change my plugs a (FI)light is on. - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 04-22-2006, 06:24 PM Thread Starter
GP Rider
 
eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Mi
Posts: 1,369
Posting Frequency
Images: 10
  
change my plugs a (FI)light is on.

i change my plugs but the FI light is on and the bike is running like shit. i pulled 2 FI wires out last year and i recheck everything and its still on. i just ordered a new FI harness to try that out. anyone know any other reason it would be on and what to check. thanks.
eric is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-22-2006, 06:50 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,196
Posting Frequency
 
Check all the electrical connections to the throttle body, I always seem to forget one. Check to see what code is set to give you a possible hint.
swjohnsey is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-22-2006, 08:47 PM
GP Rider
 
lavudyar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: oHIo
Posts: 1,595
Posting Frequency
   
Send a message via Skype™ to lavudyar
I forgot to plug in the airbox sensor last time, caused the same problem.

Ray D
Never pet a burning dog.
lavudyar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 04-22-2006, 10:36 PM
Supercharged Mod
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,388
Posting Frequency
         
DON'T try to fix this by throwing random parts at it. That's the expensive and long way.

Scan it for codes (the shop manual explains how - the only tool required is a short piece of wire - a paper clip will do). THEN troubleshoot based on that code, as per shop manual.

Don't guess. You'll probably be barking up the wrong tree endlessly.

Seen it all before with cars ... this is not any different.


Helibars, MRA screen, Ohlins damper, reversed shift pattern, sorted suspension, braided lines, Michelin Pilot Power, all else stock 'coz it's fast enough!
GoFaster is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-22-2006, 10:57 PM
GP Star
 
Dragone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NV
Posts: 2,427
Posting Frequency
Images: 11
 
hmm, sounds like the new putt putts are a pain in the ass to work on it seems. Good read though.

W.F.O.ing with style will bring life back into focus
Dragone is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-23-2006, 11:01 AM
Supercharged Mod
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,388
Posting Frequency
         
The only thing that's a pain in the ass is that everything is crammed into a very small space.

On-board diagnostics are a Very Good Thing. If the computer ain't happy, it can tell you why. But you have to make use of its capabilities ...


Helibars, MRA screen, Ohlins damper, reversed shift pattern, sorted suspension, braided lines, Michelin Pilot Power, all else stock 'coz it's fast enough!
GoFaster is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-24-2006, 10:23 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 186
Posting Frequency
 
Look for the small two wire plug back where the servo motor is for the ex valve you need to jump this with a paper clip to get the codes for the fi system to see what was left unplugged,jump it w/ the ign off and turn it on.if you don't know what or where take it to someone you trust.
hsmarc is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-25-2006, 12:39 AM Thread Starter
GP Rider
 
eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Mi
Posts: 1,369
Posting Frequency
Images: 10
  
im going switch out the FI harness and see if that fixes it. if not then i will attempt to get a code. i have a feeling its the harness just because i have put on a mps fuel mix control and had to tap into the wires. well my buddy cut the wires way to short and i could barely get it hooked up so i need a harness so i can do it the way it was supposed to and not rigged up. i bought one on ebay for $19.00 which i thought was a steal. it should be here in a couple days and ill give you guys an update.thanks for all the info. i didnt know you could get a code like that. so thanks again.i learn something new everyday.
eric is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to change your own oil & filter... El Diablo Performance and Tech 191 04-04-2016 03:10 PM
Help! I need how to change spark plugs gpz Welcome Newbies! 1 01-27-2006 12:19 PM
Change filter every time? mach_man_187 Performance and Tech 15 07-22-2005 05:24 PM
How to change your own oil & filter... El Diablo The ZX-10R 1 02-07-2005 11:28 PM
How to change your own oil & filter... El Diablo How To... 1 02-07-2005 11:28 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome