Brake lines hitting throttle cables - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 Old 01-05-2009, 10:06 PM Thread Starter
FEELING LUCKY, PUNK ?
 
Lucky10R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Yay! Area!
Posts: 5,738
Posting Frequency
Images: 19
           
Brake lines hitting throttle cables

Well... I had this for a while since I replaced my MC with a Radial one.
I have an 05 and the its a tight fit having the throttle cables and the brake lines all in the same spot.

I have seen people rotating their throttle assembly (housing)...
Im wondering how this is done...
Is it as simple as just rotating it ?
There is a small tit on the housing that goes inside the small hole to prevent the housing from rotating...

Do I just need to rotate the housing and drill a new hole for the tab/tit ?
What am i missing here ?

THanks

Lucky10R is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 01-05-2009, 10:31 PM
GP Rider
 
bird_dog0347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 1,669
Posting Frequency
Images: 11
        
I think the solution Goldfish had for his was to get new 2008 braided brake lines, but he also had to remove the right side switches and put them up by the dash. Really cool how he got it to work since he changed out the clip ons, the radial MC, brake lines, and moved the starter and kill switch to the dash panel. Maybe he can chime in to help out.
bird_dog0347 is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 01-05-2009, 10:49 PM
Retired post whore
 
Alien10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,463
Posting Frequency
Images: 10
           
I had the same issue when I installed a ZX-14 radial master on my 04. It will fit, you just have to move the brake lines around a bit. I can take a pic tomorrow of how mine are routed if you need it.

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing." - Edmond Burke (1729-1797)
Alien10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 Old 01-05-2009, 10:51 PM Thread Starter
FEELING LUCKY, PUNK ?
 
Lucky10R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Yay! Area!
Posts: 5,738
Posting Frequency
Images: 19
           
I dont think I have to do all that.
I have seen people running it differently.
They rotate the throttle housing upward to the cables exit on top and not at the bottom.
I think I can do it but Im just making sure Im doing it right.

Lucky10R is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 01-05-2009, 10:53 PM Thread Starter
FEELING LUCKY, PUNK ?
 
Lucky10R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Yay! Area!
Posts: 5,738
Posting Frequency
Images: 19
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alien10 View Post
I had the same issue when I installed a ZX-14 radial master on my 04. It will fit, you just have to move the brake lines around a bit. I can take a pic tomorrow of how mine are routed if you need it.
Yes it fits.. as I am running it right now.
The only reason Im doing this is that I've seen better solutions.
Im also using SS brake lines for GEN 2 since they already have radials.
Gen 2 brake lines are much shorter than GEN 1 so I can only route the brake lines with little options.

Lucky10R is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 01-05-2009, 10:54 PM
Retired post whore
 
Alien10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,463
Posting Frequency
Images: 10
           
Do all what? Loosen the brake lines at the banjo bolt where they bolt into the radial. They can be moved so they don't touch the throttle cables.

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing." - Edmond Burke (1729-1797)
Alien10 is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 01-05-2009, 10:56 PM Thread Starter
FEELING LUCKY, PUNK ?
 
Lucky10R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Yay! Area!
Posts: 5,738
Posting Frequency
Images: 19
           
I was replying to bird_dog0347 :)
You just replied right away (damn that was fast)

Lucky10R is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 01-05-2009, 11:00 PM
Retired post whore
 
Alien10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,463
Posting Frequency
Images: 10
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky10R View Post
I was replying to bird_dog0347 :)
You just replied right away (damn that was fast)
I gotcha. Just trying to help - I pulled my hair out trying to get everything to fit just right when I was doing mine. I think I may have loosened the throttle housinf as well - it will move just a tiny bit.

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing." - Edmond Burke (1729-1797)
Alien10 is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 01-05-2009, 11:03 PM Thread Starter
FEELING LUCKY, PUNK ?
 
Lucky10R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Yay! Area!
Posts: 5,738
Posting Frequency
Images: 19
           
this is what I mean


Lucky10R is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 01-05-2009, 11:05 PM
Retired post whore
 
Alien10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,463
Posting Frequency
Images: 10
           
On my 04 I kept the cables routed under the radial. I never tried to take the throttle off and route like my 08. It would make more sense and life a bit easier.

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing." - Edmond Burke (1729-1797)
Alien10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB '05 throttle cables 2fast10 Wanted: Buy or Trade 0 03-26-2008 05:18 PM
Longer Throttle Cables? semozx10 Performance and Tech 4 11-20-2007 06:26 PM
06/07 Throttle cables brian0128 Vendors deals 2 06-05-2007 12:18 PM
Stock 06/07 throttle cables brian0128 Wanted: Buy or Trade 2 03-18-2007 01:53 PM
Throttle cables adjust. Zxrider The ZX-10R 7 09-04-2004 06:27 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome