Autotune and power commader 5 PCV WORKS on 06-07 - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 36 Old 04-21-2011, 10:29 PM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
biglipps66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 140
Posting Frequency
 
Autotune and power commader 5 PCV WORKS on 06-07

Posting just to confirm for all of the curious 06-07 users. THIS DOES WORK. The install directions are the EXACT same as the 08-10 directions. o2 Sensor installed in the 2 factory spots before the cats.

IMPORTANT UPDATE: THE DYNOJET AUTOTUNE PCV SETUP WILL ONLY TUNE TO MAX LEAN OF 15:1 SETTINGS ON THE AFR CELLS. I will be contacting Dynojet to see if we can change this somehow.

UPDATE AGAIN: After speaking with a "tech" there at dynojet he was somewhat lost on the actual software limitations as far as AFR table settings go. He basically said the leanest they would even recommend would be 14:1 lol. So needless to say.. clueless. Gentleman were definitely stuck at 15:1 for max lean autotune setting. Any leaner and youll be tuning it out by yourself with a gauge. UPDATE on this info POST #29

15:1 would be pretty damn good for the average end user anyway so whoever buys the pcv and autotune is still going to be pretty happy with the end results.

The new firmware update actually converted my PC3 usb map to the new format of PCV. I didnt have to add a column to the table or anything. The bike runs great and the autotune has been working as well with the switch I installed (my own switch). Ill begin the real tuning and tweaking as soon as this Ohio rain stops.

Questions? Comments? Dont forget my Throttle Body Sync thread, good idea to do this before starting a tune!
https://www.zx-10r.net/forum/showthread.php?t=101868


These are just SIMPLE PICS, the install was just a plug in, if anyone needs other pics just ask!!!! I will be putting up a small video as well showing the trim adjustments that the autotune makes after a few rides. (there are youtube vids on it now as well but hey, mine will be better with this thread right :D )


Its very small.. It fits right there and is zip tied down by the battery and doesnt move. The 2 wires close together are for autotune ON and OFF. Its literally a SIMPLE "open/close" switch, very easy to install. Just a small radio shack flip switch is all you need, you DO NOT NEED the expensive dynojet switch


Another view of how it looks under the seat, plenty of space




Stock sensor location. I had a guy weld that, not me hah, he said the back half was challenging to weld!


This is what it looks like far back.. it fits perfect.. an o2 sensor was meant to be from the start so its the best place to install it.

Last edited by biglipps66; 05-25-2011 at 07:36 AM.
biglipps66 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 36 Old 04-22-2011, 01:06 AM
WSB Rider
 
badassjake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Atlantic CANADA
Posts: 945
Posting Frequency
 
in all reality the PCV can work for all generations with reverse engineering of the wires.....just a matter of doing some research....I have a 07-08 PC3 on my 04

Thats an awesome find though.....might help some people with their setups and costly trips to the dyno that might be too far away.

Last edited by badassjake; 04-22-2011 at 01:08 AM. Reason: correction
badassjake is offline  
post #3 of 36 Old 04-22-2011, 02:08 AM
Champion Rider
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 289
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglipps66 View Post
Posting just to confirm for all of the curious 06-07 users. THIS DOES WORK. The install directions are the EXACT same as the 08-10 directions. o2 Sensor installed in the 2 factory spots before the cats.

The new firmware update actually converted my PC3 usb map to the new format of PCV. I didnt have to add a column to the table or anything. The bike runs great and the autotune has been working as well with the switch I installed (my own switch). Ill begin the real tuning and tweaking as soon as this Ohio rain stops.

Questions? Comments?
I'm very interested. I currently run a PC3 on my 07. Could you please post a link where I could download the firmware upgrade patch?
Thanks!
Kawa Sake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 36 Old 04-22-2011, 02:14 AM
Champion Rider
 
Racejunkie05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: South Central PA
Posts: 376
Posting Frequency
   
Subscribed!
Racejunkie05 is offline  
post #5 of 36 Old 04-22-2011, 06:21 AM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
biglipps66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 140
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by badassjake View Post
in all reality the PCV can work for all generations with reverse engineering of the wires.....just a matter of doing some research....I have a 07-08 PC3 on my 04

Thats an awesome find though.....might help some people with their setups and costly trips to the dyno that might be too far away.
Indeed it will for sure. It looks like some people have been using their autotune and then selling it off afterwards. Not a bad idea but you could still spend the 200-300 from the start and just get the dynotune, so Ill be keeping mine.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kawa Sake View Post
I'm very interested. I currently run a PC3 on my 07. Could you please post a link where I could download the firmware upgrade patch?
Thanks!

The link is on the dynojet website. You download the newest PCV programming software and the firmware updates are in the same area. My newly shipped (even from many weeks of back order) PCV was still 1 firmware version behind.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Racejunkie05 View Post
Subscribed!
Ill go ahead and throw up a simple wiring diagram later for anyone looking to install it on their 06-07. Ill be posting the results I get soon too, OHIO RAIN GRRRRRRR :headshake
biglipps66 is offline  
post #6 of 36 Old 04-22-2011, 06:22 AM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
biglipps66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 140
Posting Frequency
 
*space saved for pic updates*
biglipps66 is offline  
post #7 of 36 Old 04-22-2011, 06:22 AM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
biglipps66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 140
Posting Frequency
 
*and 1 last spot for pics later*
biglipps66 is offline  
post #8 of 36 Old 04-22-2011, 09:10 AM
GP Rider
 
dirt ninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,971
Posting Frequency
Images: 9
    
good work!
dirt ninja is offline  
post #9 of 36 Old 04-22-2011, 08:12 PM
Champion Rider
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 289
Posting Frequency
 
thanks bud, rep sent
Kawa Sake is offline  
post #10 of 36 Old 04-22-2011, 11:23 PM
Street Rider
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: France
Posts: 55
Posting Frequency
 
Send a message via MSN to Chris79
subscribed
Chris79 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dynojet AutoTune for Power Commander V ridersdiscount Riders Discount 2 07-05-2016 09:02 AM
For Sale: 04'-05' ZX10R Power Commader 3USB TMY10ER eBay & Auction Links 0 10-21-2010 06:42 AM
Power Commander 5 and AutoTune Stays one when bike is off sullysZX10r Performance and Tech 2 03-18-2010 10:19 PM
Gen 1 (04-05) Power Commader III USB (BRAND NEW IN BOX) PumpinIron Parts, Gear and Accessories 0 12-09-2008 12:27 PM
Just went through my 2nd Power Commader?? WTF...help fornication Performance and Tech 7 04-24-2006 10:42 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome