anyone use the raceing exhaust cam as intake? - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 03-22-2008, 01:58 PM Thread Starter
GP Rider
 
avdigigeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,330
Posting Frequency
  
anyone use the raceing exhaust cam as intake?

I have an exahst cam I'm thinking about what to do with it?
I've heard some use the stocker exhuast as the intake cam?
The race intake is so hard to come by these days not sure of any other solution.
any thoughts? am I totaly retarded ?
Thanks in advance
avdigigeek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 03-22-2008, 03:55 PM
Champion Rider
 
bodyglove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Aruba
Posts: 311
Posting Frequency
Images: 15
 
Send a message via MSN to bodyglove
it will work , but you will loose power because the stock intake has more lift than the stock exhaust cam so its not worth the swap
bodyglove is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 03-22-2008, 07:37 PM Thread Starter
GP Rider
 
avdigigeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,330
Posting Frequency
  
What about the race exhaust cam is that smaller then the stocker ?
avdigigeek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 03-23-2008, 07:19 PM
Champion Rider
 
bodyglove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Aruba
Posts: 311
Posting Frequency
Images: 15
 
Send a message via MSN to bodyglove
Stock intake cam 9.2MM lift

Race intake cam 9.7MM lift

Stock Exhaust Cam 8.5MM lift

Race Exhaust cam 8.0MM lift

bodyglove is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-23-2008, 09:20 PM
WSB Rider
 
jimbob8915's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tulare Ca
Posts: 542
Posting Frequency
  
Anybody done a race intake and stock intake for exhaust?
jimbob8915 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-23-2008, 09:59 PM
BANNED
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hyrum, JawGa
Posts: 3,645
Posting Frequency
       
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbob8915 View Post
Anybody done a race intake and stock intake for exhaust?
You can't use the intake cam on the exhaust side. The reason for that is fuel injection. The computer must know if the piston going up is on the exhaust stroke or the compression stroke. How it knows this is by a sensor on the exhaust cam side. The exhaust cam has to be able to trip the sensor. There is no provisions for this on the intake cams.

An enterprising individual might be able to machine it though. Most likely out of the abilites of most home mechanics.

So it wouldnt be a simple bolt on.

JJ
JimmyJam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
intake springs on exhaust valves 05 zx10r speeddemon Performance and Tech 1 03-18-2008 10:40 PM
Intake & exhaust cam specs 11outa10 Performance and Tech 11 12-05-2007 07:40 AM
stock intake cam for exhaust jimbob8915 Performance and Tech 9 08-22-2007 10:50 PM
06 Intake race intake HP & cams specs 11outa10 Performance and Tech 10 12-12-2006 03:57 PM
Thin head gasket, bigger intake and exhaust cams, 1killer1liter The Out House 12 04-28-2006 07:12 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome