Anybody make cams yet - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 Old 12-29-2004, 05:55 PM Thread Starter
GP Rider
 
sweetride10r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clinton Twp, Michigan
Posts: 1,202
Posting Frequency
Images: 5
  
Anybody make cams yet

Im looking for a new set of cams for my 10 the bike if totaly apart right now getting painted and frame powder coated. So i would like to do all the engine work i can right now. I want the bike to make 200 hp at the rear tire N/A anyone that can help me find parts or info on getting cams and stuff that would be great. Thanks
sweetride10r is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 12-29-2004, 06:30 PM
SP8
GP Rider
 
SP8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New Haven, CT
Posts: 1,542
Posting Frequency
 
Call Web Cams. They don't have our bike listed, but the web page may just be outdated. I think they are on vacation, but will be back to work soon.

http://www.webcamshafts.com/

Last edited by SP8; 12-29-2004 at 07:49 PM.
SP8 is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 12-29-2004, 07:36 PM
I really need to get out of the house
 
Big Daddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 34,537
Posting Frequency
Images: 38
           
I had Yams once!

BD




Those who stir the shit pot should have to lick the spoon.
Big Daddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 24 Old 12-29-2004, 09:53 PM
GP Star
 
crispin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nowhere, TN
Posts: 2,386
Posting Frequency
 
Send a message via AIM to crispin
BD - always the big help.
crispin is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 12-29-2004, 09:57 PM
Post Whore
 
Older Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 5,968
Posting Frequency
           
Drop an Acura motor in it...that will do 200 hp.
Older Guy is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 12-29-2004, 10:58 PM
Supercharged Mod
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,388
Posting Frequency
         
200 horsepower normally aspirated is a mighty lofty goal when starting from a production engine if you are going to stay (near) stock displacement and redline.

If you stick with stock redline you'll have to make 81 lb.ft of torque at 13,000 rpm redline in order to do it. 80 lb.ft of torque per litre of displacement is pushing the limits of what's normally possible using pump gasoline fuel and no forced induction or chemical trickery.

MotoGP bikes are pushing 220 horsepower or thereabouts (exact details are not available) but they're revving to somewhere near 16,000 rpm. If peak power occurs at redline, that's 72 lb.ft of torque at 16,000 rpm. Peak torque will be more than that at somewhat lower revs. Those engines have nothing to do with production engines ...

AMA or World Superbikes are more like 180 horsepower. That requires 72 lb.ft at 13,000 rpm - that's still a big increase over stock, but it's within the realm of possibility.

You'll need not only cams, but also whatever it's gonna take to make the bottom end survive it ...


Helibars, MRA screen, Ohlins damper, reversed shift pattern, sorted suspension, braided lines, Michelin Pilot Power, all else stock 'coz it's fast enough!
GoFaster is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 12-30-2004, 03:12 AM
OG Post Whore
 
stunnerific_harry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: sandy eggo
Posts: 10,400
Posting Frequency
 
Send a message via AIM to stunnerific_harry
yams are sweet
stunnerific_harry is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 12-30-2004, 03:37 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,830
Posting Frequency
Images: 2
 
62.4 lbs/ft at 12500(revlimiter according to dyno) on mine so quite abit of difference 10lbs/ft would make.

thats alot of $$$ to get those numbers stated by gofaster
sp500 is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 12-30-2004, 04:52 AM
OG Post Whore
 
stunnerific_harry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: sandy eggo
Posts: 10,400
Posting Frequency
 
Send a message via AIM to stunnerific_harry
62.4 lbs of yams? thats a whole lotta yams man
stunnerific_harry is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 12-30-2004, 05:25 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,830
Posting Frequency
Images: 2
 
thats at peak yams man
sp500 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got my flushmounts & integrator. How to make it flash slow? STREETFIGHTER50 The ZX-10R 25 11-22-2004 06:47 PM
Looking to make the ultimate street/strip zx10r! on1whl Performance and Tech 1 10-30-2004 11:08 PM
Cams 96dragshee Performance and Tech 14 10-30-2004 03:04 PM
Any way to make NOT subscribin' to threads default option? El Diablo The ZX-10R 3 10-17-2004 10:11 PM
RedElk's ZX10R Ride and Adventure review swft The ZX-10R 11 03-11-2004 02:24 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome