Akra Slip-on Exhaust Problem - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 01-27-2008, 04:46 PM Thread Starter
Street Rider

Posting Frequency

Akra Slip-on Exhaust Problem

I am a beginner so this might sound dumb, but I am having problems installing the slip on exhaust for my '05. I've searched, but haven't found anything.

Everything is fine except for one thing...the backet Akra sends with the kit that mounts at the header to hook the spring onto the mid pipe. I removed the screw the instructions said to remove (Red Arrow), but when you try to install the bracket behind the rubber washer, there's a part of the header that gets in the way (Small yellow arrow). It's a welded triangle support. When I put the little bracket in the place the instructions tell me to, it won't let me tighten down the screw correctly. It's hard to explain, but I know someone with the exhaust might know what I am talking about.

Again I am new to bikes, so this could be a stupid post. That bracket might not even be for my year Zx10, but the instructions say for 04-05.

I can't find my camera cord to load pictures, this is the best I can do using someone else's...as soon as I can get better pictures I will.

Also, if I can't figure this out, would it be safe to run the exhaust without the spring attaching the midpipe to the header. Is the clamp enough? Right now it looks like this...clamped down obviously but not using the spring.

Thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	akraissue.JPG
Views:	213
Size:	69.6 KB
ID:	57370  
Attached Images

Last edited by Tweek218; 01-27-2008 at 04:48 PM. Reason: Added to
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 01-27-2008, 05:15 PM
I really need to get out of the house

Posting Frequency