Add links to stock chain? - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 12-27-2005, 08:37 PM Thread Starter
Champion Rider
 
madkaw77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: in my house
Posts: 385
Posting Frequency
Images: 3
 
Add links to stock chain?

I was wondering if I could add links to my stock chain. I got a killer deal on a 45t 525 sprocket and cant afford a new chain. Can I add master links to the stock chain? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Fear is interest paid on a debt you may not owe.
madkaw77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-27-2005, 08:39 PM
Green Hippie
 
treyzx10r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: orlando fl
Posts: 17,566
Posting Frequency
Images: 10
           
if ya have a chain breaker and some stock links it can be done

VAE VICTUS!

RIP James R Patterson 6/3/30-5/26/09
treyzx10r is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-27-2005, 08:40 PM Thread Starter
Champion Rider
 
madkaw77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: in my house
Posts: 385
Posting Frequency
Images: 3
 
thank you.

Fear is interest paid on a debt you may not owe.
madkaw77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 12-27-2005, 08:46 PM
PostWhore
 
GuitarPlyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 13,495
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
         
Send a message via Yahoo to GuitarPlyr
yeah, it can be done.....is the stock chain fairly new?....i dont know anything about it really, but i would think you wouldnt wanna add new links to an old chain....



John 8:24:
Therefore I said to you that you will die in your sins; for if you do not believe that I am He, you will die in your sins."
GuitarPlyr is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 12-27-2005, 08:51 PM
Green Hippie
 
treyzx10r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: orlando fl
Posts: 17,566
Posting Frequency
Images: 10
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadAzzGuitarPlyr
yeah, it can be done.....is the stock chain fairly new?....i dont know anything about it really, but i would think you wouldnt wanna add new links to an old chain....
I've gotten thru races doing it but only when we could'nt get a new chain and needed to add links for a gearing change, would coin up for new if ya can

VAE VICTUS!

RIP James R Patterson 6/3/30-5/26/09
treyzx10r is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 12-27-2005, 10:35 PM
Supercharged Mod
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,388
Posting Frequency
         
You can add links, but it's not just master links. A chain has alternating "innies" and "outies". Master links are all "outies". You'll have to find an extra "innie" somewhere.

:D

Personally, I would not do it this way except in a pinch to get through a race (or to get home after a chain failure out on the road). Every master link has a little element of risk going along for the ride. There's no way to install a chain without one master link, but one master link is half the failure risk of two. You are not in that much of an emergency ... the bike can still be ridden with the sprockets that you have, until you have the $ for a new chain.


Helibars, MRA screen, Ohlins damper, reversed shift pattern, sorted suspension, braided lines, Michelin Pilot Power, all else stock 'coz it's fast enough!
GoFaster is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 12-28-2005, 06:03 PM
Green Hippie
 
treyzx10r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: orlando fl
Posts: 17,566
Posting Frequency
Images: 10
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoFaster
You can add links, but it's not just master links. A chain has alternating "innies" and "outies". Master links are all "outies". You'll have to find an extra "innie" somewhere.

:D

Personally, I would not do it this way except in a pinch to get through a race (or to get home after a chain failure out on the road). Every master link has a little element of risk going along for the ride. There's no way to install a chain without one master link, but one master link is half the failure risk of two. You are not in that much of an emergency ... the bike can still be ridden with the sprockets that you have, until you have the $ for a new chain.
well said

VAE VICTUS!

RIP James R Patterson 6/3/30-5/26/09
treyzx10r is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing rear lowering links. busaforhire Performance and Tech 35 10-24-2013 11:23 PM
Installing rear lowering links. busaforhire How To... 2 08-23-2005 09:38 AM
Stock cam chain tensioner question! Superbike1 Performance and Tech 9 06-28-2005 03:58 PM
16t cs with stock chain? madkaw77 The ZX-10R 8 06-22-2005 11:44 AM
Recon needs help again! Need stock chain. ForceRecon Performance and Tech 11 02-06-2005 08:36 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome