Gen 5: 2016- 2016 ZX10R FI codes after installing PCV - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 Old 09-07-2018, 07:04 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 9
Posting Frequency
 
2016 ZX10R FI codes after installing PCV

Hello guys, I recently put a PCV on my 2016 ZX10R, and after the installation the FI and CEL came on. I pull out the codes and got code 41 42 43 and 44, which are fuel injector 1 2 3 4 are mulfuntioning. The bike starts and runs just fine. I rechecked the connectors on the injectors and they are fine. Put everything back in, start it up and run it, still got same codes. I went to the dealer and had the codes cleared, but same things happened after a short distance of traveling. I even tried manually reset codes (from the owner’s manual), but it did not work. Any ideas? Thanks.
Hoshino Sato is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 09-07-2018, 08:04 PM
WSB Rider
 
Porschenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Posts: 604
Posting Frequency
Images: 2
 
You need to flash the ECU to disable fault codes after doing smog work.

2013 ABS, Bridgestone T30 Evo, Woolich, Danmoto shorty & link, Rifleman's 1/5th turn, K&N, GP shift, Gen5 shock/links/dogbone, geared (-1/+0), Shorai, EBC HH, AllBallz roller steering, Ohlins NIX30, Lightech adjusters. Bestem carbon. 50,000km+ and good so far.
Porschenut is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 09-07-2018, 09:07 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 9
Posting Frequency
 
Can I use the "ECU Reflash" system from the dealer to clear them?
Hoshino Sato is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 Old 09-08-2018, 02:08 PM
REPOST Enforcement Mod
 
SkyDork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 13,512
Posting Frequency
           
Garage
A search would help you.

The manual clearing procedure is outlined here:
https://www.zx-10r.net/forum/f28/all...ht-218666.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoshino Sato View Post
Can I use the "ECU Reflash" system from the dealer to clear them?
There is no "ECU Reflash" system at any dealer. They can hook up the Kawasaki diagnostic tool, read and reset the FI errors, but that has nothing to do with reflashing it.

I may not be perfect, but at least I don't ride a Suzuki.

Ridding the Internet of bad grammar, 1 post at a time.
#WordCrimes




SkyDork is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 09-08-2018, 02:12 PM
REPOST Enforcement Mod
 
SkyDork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 13,512
Posting Frequency
           
Garage
And why the hell would you install a PCV??? Those things are so 1998.

I may not be perfect, but at least I don't ride a Suzuki.

Ridding the Internet of bad grammar, 1 post at a time.
#WordCrimes




SkyDork is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 09-08-2018, 02:31 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 9
Posting Frequency
 
I saw your post about resetting the code before and I followed the instruction but it did not work. The KDS v3 does have a function says “ECU reflash” but I did not touch it but cleared the code instead. And the code just pop out again after clearing them...
Hoshino Sato is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 09-08-2018, 02:37 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 9
Posting Frequency
 
I would go with Woolich if I can, but I live in Iowa and there is no shop which can do ECU reflash with Woolich, but there is a shop down DSM has a dyno and they can only do PCV tuning. I remember when I was looking for a tuner to tune my WRX-STI with COBB along with a custom tune, I had to go down to Chicago to find a tuner...
Hoshino Sato is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 09-08-2018, 02:41 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 9
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyDork View Post
And why the hell would you install a PCV??? Those things are so 1998. [IMG class=inlineimg]https://www.zx-10r.net/forum/images/smilies/2bitchslap.gif[/IMG] <a href="https://zx-10r.net/forum/images/smilies/smilies/icon_confused.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Confused" >:-)</a>
First time using this website...
Hoshino Sato is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 09-08-2018, 02:50 PM
REPOST Enforcement Mod
 
SkyDork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 13,512
Posting Frequency
           
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoshino Sato View Post
I would go with Woolich if I can, but I live in Iowa and there is no shop which can do ECU reflash with Woolich, but there is a shop down DSM has a dyno and they can only do PCV tuning. I remember when I was looking for a tuner to tune my WRX-STI with COBB along with a custom tune, I had to go down to Chicago to find a tuner...

The Woolich kit is so you can tune it yourself, in your garage, by yourself. The autotune kit allows that. Or you can change the maps yourself on the computer you connect to it. No need to take it to a tuner. Or you take it to a tuner with a dyno and make the changes yourself while there or based on the results of that.


Tuning with a PC only makes fueling changes. ALL the other stuff that can be accessed (ignition, per gearing, cooling system, traction control, engine braking, ETV, QS, autoblip, race mode, etc) are not able to be tuned with a PC.

I may not be perfect, but at least I don't ride a Suzuki.

Ridding the Internet of bad grammar, 1 post at a time.
#WordCrimes




SkyDork is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 09-08-2018, 02:59 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 9
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyDork View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoshino Sato View Post
I would go with Woolich if I can, but I live in Iowa and there is no shop which can do ECU reflash with Woolich, but there is a shop down DSM has a dyno and they can only do PCV tuning. I remember when I was looking for a tuner to tune my WRX-STI with COBB along with a custom tune, I had to go down to Chicago to find a tuner...


The Woolich kit is so you can tune it yourself, in your garage, by yourself. The autotune kit allows that. Or you can change the maps yourself on the computer you connect to it. No need to take it to a tuner. Or you take it to a tuner with a dyno and make the changes yourself while there or based on the results of that.


Tuning with a PC only makes fueling changes. ALL the other stuff that can be accessed (ignition, per gearing, cooling system, traction control, engine braking, ETV, QS, autoblip, race mode, etc) are not able to be tuned with a PC. [IMG class=inlineimg]https://www.zx-10r.net/forum/images/smilies/headshake.gif[/IMG]


I understand that, and the reason that I want to “play” with the bike is I want the bike to run better without a CAT, not for racing (there is not many race-track in Iowa and public roads sucks in Iowa...). The stock map just sucks as well. Anyway, I will try again with the code-clearing process. The bike is running strong now but just without those Kawasaki川崎 functions...
Hoshino Sato is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2016 ZX-10 KDS to OBD11 Diagnotic Harness Adapter (clearing error codes) Gravesport.com The ZX-10R 20 10-28-2018 09:48 AM
Abrupt RPM post installing arrow mid pipe and mufler on zx10r 2016 Sujay Mallesh Performance and Tech 15 02-26-2017 10:57 PM
Need help with 2016 model codes tdh The ZX-10R 2 11-20-2015 10:40 PM
Gen 4: After reflash and installing PCV bike sputters rarely. Interceptin The ZX-10R 28 05-13-2012 10:16 PM
stange FI error codes leemille Performance and Tech 1 11-21-2006 03:13 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome