1st gen Ivans TRE question - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old 09-25-2010, 05:05 PM Thread Starter
GP Star
 
zx racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Scottsboro, AL
Posts: 3,764
Posting Frequency
      
1st gen Ivans TRE question

hey guys i just got my ivans tre in the mail yesterday and my pc is actin up. will i be ok if i install it on my 05 10 ? and will i benefit from it even tho my pc took a crap ? all helpfull info will be appreciated.
zx racer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 09-28-2010, 09:52 AM
GP Star
 
themightymezzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,528
Posting Frequency
        
What do you mean your PC is acting up? I'm not all that familiar with Ivans but you shouldn't need a PC to use it and should still get benefits from having the TRE installed.
themightymezzo is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 09-28-2010, 05:01 PM Thread Starter
GP Star
 
zx racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Scottsboro, AL
Posts: 3,764
Posting Frequency
      
Quote:
Originally Posted by themightymezzo View Post
What do you mean your PC is acting up? I'm not all that familiar with Ivans but you shouldn't need a PC to use it and should still get benefits from having the TRE installed.
well my pc took a dump on me so its not workin at the moment & i have a brandnew ivans tre i just received in the mail. just wonderin if i could still install it without messin anything up & will i benefit from it without havin a pc on my bike.
zx racer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 Old 09-28-2010, 05:49 PM
Track Day Rider
 
Fish_ZX-10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 246
Posting Frequency
 
Yes, you will still benefit from having the TRE even though you won't have the PC anymore.
Fish_ZX-10 is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 09-28-2010, 06:36 PM Thread Starter
GP Star
 
zx racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Scottsboro, AL
Posts: 3,764
Posting Frequency
      
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish_ZX-10 View Post
Yes, you will still benefit from having the TRE even though you won't have the PC anymore.
wat are the benefits should i see without havin a pc vs if i had one.
zx racer is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 09-29-2010, 09:24 AM
Track Day Rider
 
Fish_ZX-10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 246
Posting Frequency
 
You should notice more power throughout your first few gears. From what I understand is that the TRE fools the computer into thinking its in 6th gear. So it has no need to retard your timing even though you are in the lower gears.
Fish_ZX-10 is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 09-29-2010, 09:34 AM
GP Star
 
themightymezzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,528
Posting Frequency
        
Here is a recent thread that's similar to your question.

https://www.zx-10r.net/forum/showthread.php?t=94344
themightymezzo is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 09-29-2010, 05:29 PM Thread Starter
GP Star
 
zx racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Scottsboro, AL
Posts: 3,764
Posting Frequency
      
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish_ZX-10 View Post
You should notice more power throughout your first few gears. From what I understand is that the TRE fools the computer into thinking its in 6th gear. So it has no need to retard your timing even though you are in the lower gears.
oh ok thx for the info just wondering bc most of the people on here with TRE's have a pc on there bike but i will be installin it later this week and will let you know how it goes and wat i think after

Quote:
Originally Posted by themightymezzo View Post
Here is a recent thread that's similar to your question.

https://www.zx-10r.net/forum/showthread.php?t=94344
thx for the link man
zx racer is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 09-29-2010, 05:33 PM
GP Star
 
themightymezzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,528
Posting Frequency
        
Last word from the manufacturers of the GiPro is he said you can install them in whatever order you want since they are "independent" of each other.

Enjoy.
themightymezzo is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 09-29-2010, 09:12 PM Thread Starter
GP Star
 
zx racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Scottsboro, AL
Posts: 3,764
Posting Frequency
      
hey guys i didnt know you have to take off the airbox which is a PITA when installing a TRE on a 1st gen. is it any other way to install the TRE without havin to remove it ?
zx racer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about Ivans TRE zx racer The ZX-10R 17 09-25-2010 03:18 PM
ivans tre question dimitriseas Performance and Tech 13 03-26-2010 04:51 AM
how to buy Ivans tre ??? 1sweetzx Vendor Deals 5 03-17-2007 01:21 AM
04-05 Ivans TRE madkaw Parts, Gear and Accessories 3 08-28-2006 01:28 PM
Ivans PC map? majtii The ZX-10R 4 03-28-2005 01:20 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome