05 ZX-10R no horn - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old 11-23-2010, 12:19 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Bobby3243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Posting Frequency
 
05 ZX-10R no horn

Hey, I recently bought an 05 ZX-10 as my first bike and I'm trying to get the horn working so I can get my inspection sticker and endorsement.
I'm still learning the in's, out's, and mechanics of riding so it's not that I'm speeding everywhere but I've learned already that cops devote their full attention to you if you happen to be riding a sportbike, and I'd rather not get pulled over for no reason whatsoever then get a ticket for riding without a license.

When I went to the DMV to get the bike registered and get my endorsement they said I need an inspection sticker before I could use my bike for the skills test that's when I realized my horn doesn't work.

I pulled and replaced the fuse with a new one, since all of my light and signal switches work fine I assumed it was the horn itself and replaced it with a used OEM horn, still no luck. It was getting late last night so I called it a night after removing the switch assembly from the handlebar and inspecting the wires and solder contacts and it all looks good. I'm working out of town during the week so this weekend I'll try and take the horn switch completely off and check the contacts on it (my buddy has a spare switch assembly that I can replace it with).

I looked through the service manual and didn't see a relay for the horn. Does anyone know of a horn relay somewhere else besides the relay box that I overlooked? And any ideas on other things I can check would be appreciated, just want to have a gameplan set up so I can get the horn working and do some riding this weekend and be ready to get my endorsement when I get some time off.
Bobby3243 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 11-23-2010, 12:34 PM
GP Rider
 
shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: B.C.,Canada
Posts: 1,233
Posting Frequency
Images: 5
  
Mine quite to but i think they just croak from lack of use,i would just repace the horn if i was you.
Also that is the only thing i have had go
so pretty dam good.

Last edited by shift; 11-23-2010 at 12:37 PM.
shift is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 11-23-2010, 01:52 PM
Champion Rider
 
Foxxtrott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mass.
Posts: 276
Posting Frequency
 
The horns usually have an adjustment screw on the back of them. Basically take the horn off the lower tripple. Loosen the lock nut and while holding down the horn button slowly back the screw out. Just an idea. It may just be simply dead.
Foxxtrott is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 21 Old 11-23-2010, 01:57 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Bobby3243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Posting Frequency
 
So you guys think both are bad? My horn wasn't working I thought that's what it was so I bought a replacement (OEM used) and still didn't work.
Bobby3243 is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 11-23-2010, 02:12 PM
Licensed Dist of HaterAde
 
TMY10ER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston,TX
Posts: 11,423
Posting Frequency
Images: 10
           
Send a message via Yahoo to TMY10ER
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxxtrott View Post
The horns usually have an adjustment screw on the back of them. Basically take the horn off the lower tripple. Loosen the lock nut and while holding down the horn button slowly back the screw out. Just an idea. It may just be simply dead.
..but it is kinda strange that even the replacement horn didn't work?
TMY10ER is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 11-23-2010, 02:43 PM
Supercharged Mod
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,388
Posting Frequency
         
Are you getting power to the horn??

Take the two connectors off (it's easy) and put a voltmeter across them while having an assistant press the horn button.

Power but no workie? Horn is bad. No power? Circuit is bad or switch is bad.


Helibars, MRA screen, Ohlins damper, reversed shift pattern, sorted suspension, braided lines, Michelin Pilot Power, all else stock 'coz it's fast enough!
GoFaster is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 11-23-2010, 03:48 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Bobby3243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoFaster View Post
Are you getting power to the horn??

Take the two connectors off (it's easy) and put a voltmeter across them while having an assistant press the horn button.

Power but no workie? Horn is bad. No power? Circuit is bad or switch is bad.
Yea my friend has a meter so we may check voltage before we plug in the new switch assembly. It just feels like your ahead of the game when you install something out of guesswork and that be the part that's broken. On the other hand if that's not it you realize you just wasted your time and have to undo everything you just did hah.

Just lookin to pick everyones brain in case nothing I try works and I'm stuck scratching my head.
Bobby3243 is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 11-23-2010, 03:57 PM
GP Star
 
NinjeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,204
Posting Frequency
        
I had the same problems with a few horns on various bikes, sometimes the screw on the horn is too tight and doesn't cause the horn to beep. try messing with the horn since you have power to the wires.
NinjeR is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 11-23-2010, 04:50 PM
Champion Rider
 
Foxxtrott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mass.
Posts: 276
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby3243 View Post
So you guys think both are bad? My horn wasn't working I thought that's what it was so I bought a replacement (OEM used) and still didn't work.
Sorry I didnt fully read your post. Not likely that 2 horns are bad, but if you have power then it dont leave much eles. Dont forget that the horn needs to be grounded while you test.
Foxxtrott is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 11-23-2010, 08:50 PM
GP Rider
 
gazx10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: monroe, ga.
Posts: 1,361
Posting Frequency
     
horn

seen more bad contacts inside at horn button than anything else. never seen a bad horn itself.
gazx10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
horn

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My OEM horn trigger and my aftermarket horn russell Performance and Tech 13 04-11-2009 04:21 PM
Car horn mod. LOUDER THAN MY CAR 06Neenja Performance and Tech 20 05-23-2008 09:19 PM
Horn upgrade Bradlee_T Pictures and Videos 8 10-26-2007 07:17 AM
nos wiring horn...? hccaamps The ZX-10R 7 05-05-2007 03:48 PM
Now I've got the horn.... Goatozaki Pictures and Videos 15 09-17-2004 02:26 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome