05 ZX-10R no horn - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old 11-23-2010, 12:19 PM Thread Starter
Squid

Posting Frequency

05 ZX-10R no horn

Hey, I recently bought an 05 ZX-10 as my first bike and I'm trying to get the horn working so I can get my inspection sticker and endorsement.
I'm still learning the in's, out's, and mechanics of riding so it's not that I'm speeding everywhere but I've learned already that cops devote their full attention to you if you happen to be riding a sportbike, and I'd rather not get pulled over for no reason whatsoever then get a ticket for riding without a license.

When I went to the DMV to get the bike registered and get my endorsement they said I need an inspection sticker before I could use my bike for the skills test that's when I realized my horn doesn't work.

I pulled and replaced the fuse with a new one, since all of my light and signal switches work fine I assumed it was the horn itself and replaced it with a used OEM horn, still no luck. It was getting late last night so I called it a night after removing the switch assembly from the handlebar and inspecting the wires and solder contacts and it all looks good. I'm working out of town during the week so this weekend I'll try and take the horn switch completely off and check the contacts on it (my buddy has a spare switch assembly that I can replace it with).

I looked through the service manual and didn't see a relay for the horn. Does anyone know of a horn relay somewhere else besides the relay box that I overlooked? And any ideas on other things I can check would be appreciated, just want to have a gameplan set up so I can get the horn working and do some riding this weekend and be ready to get my endorsement when I get some time off.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 11-23-2010, 12:34 PM
GP Rider

Posting Frequency

Mine quite to but i think they just croak from lack of use,i would just repace the horn if i was you.