04/05 Atmospheric Pressure switch loaction? pic? - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 02-07-2010, 10:06 AM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
Dare-x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Amherstview
Posts: 149
Posting Frequency
Images: 6
 
04/05 Atmospheric Pressure switch loaction? pic?

Can somebody help me with this, but I can looking for
Atmospheric Pressure switch loaction? and or pic of what it looks like?
bike: 2005 ZX10r
Dare-x is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 02-07-2010, 10:25 AM
Speed Freak
 
garth285's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: PSL, Florida
Posts: 12,730
Posting Frequency
           
Send a message via AIM to garth285


located under the mid section of the tail section, in front of the passenger seat and behind the driver seat.
garth285 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 02-18-2010, 04:53 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 14
Posting Frequency
 
might sound dumb but what does this do exactly?
air30force is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 02-18-2010, 04:56 PM
Speed Freak
 
garth285's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: PSL, Florida
Posts: 12,730
Posting Frequency
           
Send a message via AIM to garth285
tells the bike the current outside atmospheric conditions so the bike can adjust to it.
garth285 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 02-18-2010, 05:07 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 14
Posting Frequency
 
is it like a reset switch or like an on or off sorry im still new to bikes trying to learn as much as possible
air30force is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 02-18-2010, 07:53 PM
Supercharged Mod
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,388
Posting Frequency
         
It is not a "switch", it is a "sensor". It doesn't give an "on/off" type signal. It gives a voltage that is in proportion to atmospheric pressure.

The ECU uses this information (and also from many other sensors) to calculate how much fuel to inject. This is how the fuel-injected engines compensate for altitude. At high altitude, the atmospheric pressure is lower, so it reduces fuel delivery in proportion so that the engine still runs correctly. A loss in power at high altitude is unavoidable, but maintaining the air/fuel ratio correct ensures that driveability is maintained and that the loss in power is minimized.


Helibars, MRA screen, Ohlins damper, reversed shift pattern, sorted suspension, braided lines, Michelin Pilot Power, all else stock 'coz it's fast enough!
GoFaster is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 02-18-2010, 08:15 PM
Track Day Rider
 
OOphLAMEr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Behind the Orange Curtain.
Posts: 136
Posting Frequency
 
Send a message via AIM to OOphLAMEr
This post got me thinkin...

Does anyone know the refresh rate on the sensor...how often it sends a signal to the ECU?

If one were to relocate the atmospheric sensor to the inside of the ram air tube, as far forward as possible, would this improve the a/f ratio at high speed on the highway? Or, is the refresh rate too slow to provide any benefit?

All Glory to the Hypnotoad!
OOphLAMEr is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 02-18-2010, 08:21 PM
Speed Freak
 
garth285's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: PSL, Florida
Posts: 12,730
Posting Frequency
           
Send a message via AIM to garth285
no this sensor is located there for a reason, there is another sensor on the throttle bodies that senses other but this sensor is to get a condition where wind is not blowing acros the opening to give it any in-accurate readings.
garth285 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 02-18-2010, 09:00 PM
Supercharged Mod
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,388
Posting Frequency
         
There's no way to know how often the ECU takes a sample from this sensor. Atmospheric pressure is generally a slow-changing function; it is not necessary to sample it at a high frequency. But, it's also not very difficult for a modern ECU to take a sample at a high frequency.

Modern fuel injection ECU's recalculate the injection quantity on every revolution of the engine. There's no reason it couldn't sample the barometric pressure sensor at that very same frequency - although barometric pressure doesn't change with each revolution of the engine, so there is no need for it to do that. No way to know. Also, doesn't matter too much.


Helibars, MRA screen, Ohlins damper, reversed shift pattern, sorted suspension, braided lines, Michelin Pilot Power, all else stock 'coz it's fast enough!
GoFaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pressure switch banjo bolt RDLYN13000 Vendors deals 1 12-14-2009 03:18 PM
Rear brake pressure switch Green Parts, Gear and Accessories 6 02-26-2009 12:50 PM
07 atmospheric pressure sensor konichd Wanted: Buy or Trade 0 07-22-2008 09:13 PM
pressure switch cnote The ZX-10R 2 04-25-2008 10:09 PM
Rear Brake Pressure Switch themightymezzo Vendors deals 6 12-22-2007 12:05 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome