Street raced a Duc 999 tonight - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 06-09-2004, 01:30 AM Thread Starter
WSB Rider

Posting Frequency

Street raced a Duc 999 tonight

I was out for a little night time jaunt on the 10R heading to a deserted stretch of road off the beaten path. At a light before entering said road a Ducati 999S (I was to find out later) pulled alongside and starting revving. I did not rev back both because I think it is stupid plus the stock can does not sound very intimidating.

The light went green and he took off like a bullet. My maturity went out the window and I nailed it like I have never done before. By the time I hit second gear somewhere around 90mph according to the speedo, I was right on his tail. I shifted into second and opened it up full to accelerate straight past him (boy do those Ducs sound nice).

I stopped looking at my speedo after I saw 145mph. By that time I was well ahead of him and approaching a stop sign.

We both pulled over to the side of the road and admired each other's bikes. He said that he thought it was a 636 (all of my stickers are removed) and was shocked when I passed him. He was pretty cool and parted after shaking hands.

Some things I learned:

1. Maybe my Scotts damper made a difference in high speed handling, maybe not, but it did wonders for my confidence.
2. Above 100mph the stock windscreen is insufficient protection. It felt as though someone was peeling me off the bike by the scruff of my neck. Looks like a DB is in order.

2004 Black ZX-10R
Prepare for Ludicrous speed!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 06-09-2004, 03:23 AM
TAZ
Champion Rider

Posting Frequency

Send a message via AIM to TAZ Send a message via Yahoo to TAZ
fantastic story! oh yeah and good to hear you won.
________
SIDE EFFECTS OF ZOLOFT

Last edited by TAZ; 04-11-2011 at 01:09 PM.
post #3 of 12 Old 06-09-2004, 04:23 AM

Posting Frequency

Re: Street raced a Duc 999 tonight

Quote: