1st track bike choices - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old 05-21-2015, 10:50 AM Thread Starter
Squid

Posting Frequency

1st track bike choices

I have been riding street for many years and own a 2008 zx 10.I am going to race classes this summer and want to buy a second bike for track/street/ and a bit of stunt wheelie.I want to get more aggressive with my riding and want to take it slowly.I plan on having this bike for 2 to 3 years and only mods I want to do are sprocket and exhaust.I want to get the most out of this bike stock to challenge and better my riding skills.Also a bike that is easy to work on myself.I am currently thinking about

2002 Kawasaki zx6
2003 Kawasaki ex500
old faithful 2000 Kawasaki zx-7
2003 Honda cbr 900
2003 Honda cbr 600

I want to keep the purchase price low so when I crash it I am not crying about my loss, just fixer up and keep going.I am just starting out and I don't plan on winning any races but are theses bikes to old to be competitive?I know a lot has to do with the rider not just the bike.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 05-21-2015, 04:03 PM
Champion Rider

Posting Frequency

I have a bike that I bought just for track days. Its an 05 GSXR600, I got it from a guy that had raced it for 4 or 5 years and it was already set up as a track bike. Sharkskinz, everything was safety wired already, suspension was fresh, came with extra chains and sprockets, front and rear stands and it even had a nice steering damper installed. I paid less for it than I would have paid for a worn out street bike, plus all of the track-only mods were already done.

I'd be looking for somebody elses track bike, regardless of make or model. Converting a street bike to a track bike is a pain in the ass. Taking the lights and mirrors off, taping some of them up, flushing the cooling system, then take it home and un-do all of it... Fuck that noise.