RX8/rotory engines - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 03-18-2008, 05:17 AM Thread Starter
Just trolling

Posting Frequency

RX8/rotory engines

Has anyone have/had the mazda RX8 before or this type of engine tbh this is my first time actually hearing of engine like this in a car( ive heard of em but really didnt know what they put them in) i love the look and the reviews look pretty good of the rx8's but wanted to see if anyone on here had any background in these. do they need alot of maintenance? are they reliable? and for anyone who has had/or does have the rx8's how do you like it? thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by scout View Post
I'd change the oil in that...and all the time.
Panigale 1199S
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 03-18-2008, 05:25 AM
GP Star

Posting Frequency

I had the RX7 (Better than the RX8 IMO)
Rotary needs TLC. Change oil frequent. Say every 3,000kms. And use Dino Juice. Non-synthetic oil. And keep the cooling system in a healthy state. Insure all oil hoses are good. They tend to go hard from the heat and burst and dump oil at an alarming rate. I know had this on the freeway. Rotor blades knackered rebuild engine. Still would buy another. Respond pretty good to mods.

BKK
post #3 of 14 Old 03-18-2008, 05:31 AM
Track Day Rider

Posting Frequency

Send a message via MSN to yelozx10r
As time goes on Mazda manages to make the rotary engine alot more reliable and better.

The rotary engine kinda drives like a bike motor... power is delivered higher up and it LOVES to be revved.

The rotary also responds so well to turbos because it puts out ALOT of exhaust which makes spinning the turbo up so good.

Excellent car, excellent motor
post #4 of 14 Old 03-18-2008, 05:37 AM
GP Star

Posting Frequency

Quote:
Originally Posted by yelozx10r View Post
As time goes on Mazda manages to make the rotary engine alot more reliable and better.