How is your job handling the economy slump - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 61 Old 12-26-2008, 10:01 AM Thread Starter
GP Star

Posting Frequency

How is your job handling the economy slump

I work in the aviation sector within GE. We are currently closed down for the last two weeks of December and are returning to work on Jan 05, 2009. But we are returning to work to find out how long the plant is shutting down in 2009, bad news. This really f#$%'n sucks! I also can not replace my wage that I am making at any other metal fabrication shop in this area so I am stuck to have to deal with unemployment. Money is super tight right now and hopefully 2009 will be a good year but it doenst look that way. I was looking forward to tracking my bike in '09 but I dont think I will have cash to do it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 61 Old 12-26-2008, 10:15 AM
WSB Rider

Posting Frequency

I am at work now a paper Carton plant....and it is slow on on side of the plant, busy on the other side of the plant. Customer orders are down also. I am blessed that my side is busy and I am working overtime. But I feel your pain man , keep your head up and I hope and pray that everything works out.
post #3 of 61 Old 12-26-2008, 10:21 AM
WSB Rider

Posting Frequency

I work in drilling applications for Baker Hughes which is a directional drilling and MWD/LWD company. Things have slowed down for other divisions and regions, but things have been pretty constant where Im at. No talk of layoffs or shutting down for any sector yet. Good luck to those of you feeling the downturn of the economy.
post #4 of 61 Old 12-26-2008, 10:22 AM
Champion Rider

Posting Frequency

I work for an electric utility in the transmission control center....business is fine. Hell...I got a 20 percent raise this year to keep up with the market pay for transmission system operators!

post #5 of 61 Old 12-26-2008, 10:28 AM
Track Day Rider

Posting Frequency