Computer / TV Tech question - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 Old 09-29-2011, 09:25 AM Thread Starter
Servo's Eliminatus ;)
 
hellsrazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gulf Coast of Mississippi
Posts: 6,813
Posting Frequency
Images: 23
           
Computer / TV Tech question

Ok,
Here is my question.
I want to be able to hook my desk top computer to my tv so I can watch
Garths free movies on my tv.
I have a JVC 1000 watt surround sound system and a JVC tv.
Is there a cord like maybe the one that hooks the surround sound system to the tv ?

Can anyone help me out ??
hellsrazor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 09-29-2011, 09:27 AM
GP Rider
 
09zx10miami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: In the woods
Posts: 1,130
Posting Frequency
  
whats the model number on the receiver ?

****Giiiiiiiiittttttuuuurrrdooonnneee****
09zx10miami is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 09-29-2011, 09:28 AM
Speed Freak
 
garth285's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: PSL, Florida
Posts: 12,730
Posting Frequency
           
Send a message via AIM to garth285
they make headphone to RCA cables, can pick them up at walmart or any electronics store like best buy or radio shack.

you will have to get the picture to go direct to the screen so if your TV has a computer monitor IN you can make the screen your monitor and then hook up the audio direct to your reciever by putting those RCA's on a spare channel like AUX or w/e

I have this set up on my TV at home and my parents, I actually gave my mom a 2TB hard drive and loaded it up and she just hooks the laptop right up to her projector (115" screen :-) ) and then audio into her reciever.
garth285 is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 09-29-2011, 09:37 AM
MIA Post Whore
 
miykl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Princeton, Tx --'Nawlins refugee
Posts: 8,727
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
          
It really depends on the the hardware you have (tv, pc, and reciever). It can be as basic as what garth described, or you may be able to go full digital surround and hi-def video.

2011 Ninja 1K street
2004 636 track
miykl is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 09-29-2011, 10:44 AM
GP Star
 
blink.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,344
Posting Frequency
           
Thank god for wifi Tv. I just networked my computer to my t.v. through WMP and it plays wireless...

Another way I do it, HD cable from my laptop to my t.v. I have a surround system that has a audio plug, put that in the headphone jack of my computer, use a bluetooth/wireless mouth, sit back and watch the movie (mouse comes in handy to keep from getting up and down to rewind/stop etc....

If you have windows 7 and a ps3, you can network the same as the t.v.
blink. is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 09-29-2011, 10:55 AM Thread Starter
Servo's Eliminatus ;)
 
hellsrazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gulf Coast of Mississippi
Posts: 6,813
Posting Frequency
Images: 23
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by 09zx10miami View Post
whats the model number on the receiver ?
It's a JVC Digital Theater System TH-C6
hellsrazor is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 09-29-2011, 10:59 AM Thread Starter
Servo's Eliminatus ;)
 
hellsrazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gulf Coast of Mississippi
Posts: 6,813
Posting Frequency
Images: 23
           
Thanks everyone I am headed to the shack.
hellsrazor is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 09-29-2011, 12:19 PM
Champion Rider
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 402
Posting Frequency
    
Quote:
Originally Posted by hellsrazor View Post
It's a JVC Digital Theater System TH-C6
It all depends on what video card you have in your PC. That will dictate what cord for audio and video you need. Do you know what video card you have in it?
Hopefully its a newer PC and you could just use a HDMI cord for both.

If you don't know? Take the PC and the model number of the TV to a store. They will help you from there.

I'm assuming your It's a JVC Digital Theater System TH-C6 is running audio from the TV? Again, depending on your video card, you may have to run video to TV and Audio to JVC.
GL-S is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 09-29-2011, 12:28 PM
Slow Poke
 
bgmagma10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tulsa ok
Posts: 5,584
Posting Frequency
Images: 10
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by GL-S View Post
It all depends on what video card you have in your PC. That will dictate what cord for audio and video you need. Do you know what video card you have in it?
Hopefully its a newer PC and you could just use a HDMI cord for both.

If you don't know? Take the PC and the model number of the TV to a store. They will help you from there.

I'm assuming your It's a JVC Digital Theater System TH-C6 is running audio from the TV? Again, depending on your video card, you may have to run video to TV and Audio to JVC.
Thats what I was gonna say. Hdmi is the way to go. If both tv and comp have it anyway..
bgmagma10 is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 09-29-2011, 10:06 PM Thread Starter
Servo's Eliminatus ;)
 
hellsrazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gulf Coast of Mississippi
Posts: 6,813
Posting Frequency
Images: 23
           
Well, so much for that idea.
My tv does not have an AVG port or HDMI.
I need to get one at tax time now.

Thanks all for trying to help.
hellsrazor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer People....Ext. HD question. NYC_ZX10 The Out House 7 10-10-2008 10:55 AM
Question for you Computer Experts about my Floppy drive? JimmyJam The Out House 40 06-27-2008 06:34 PM
Tech Question bkkninja Performance and Tech 11 03-26-2008 09:44 PM
computer question ? zx10Duran The Out House 17 09-03-2007 10:32 PM
Computer Question....?? jeech The Out House 3 01-31-2005 03:46 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome