2001 Raptor 660 - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 10-12-2006, 08:53 PM Thread Starter
I'm here WAY too much..

Posting Frequency

2001 Raptor 660

Maybe some of you more experienced mechanics can help..

I have a '01 Raptor 660 that I just did the clutch on... I've never done one on a quad before, so I'm not sure if this is normal. I had trouble getting the pull rod to engage with the arm that connects the clutch cable to the case, so I took the screw out, pulled the arm out and finally got it to engage. My problem is that the clutch cable is at near max adjustment and its SO stiff=. It also seems to stay slightly engaged with the lever pulled in. I can put it in neutral and push it like it was nothing, i put it in gear, pull the clutch in and roll it, but it takes much more pushing to get it moving. Its easy to tell that its not completely disengaged. I cant start it b/c I still have the carbs, air box, and sub frame apart. Can I attribute the stiffness to the new springs? Am I missing something? Any suggestions appreciated..
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 10-12-2006, 09:13 PM
Track Day Rider

Posting Frequency

Send a message via AIM to Bigtuna660
I have an 04 Raptor, and while I have not yet replaced the clutch, I do know that my clutch stays partially engaged when pulled in. And when starting in gear, it lurches just a bit sometimes. I know this probably doesn't help, but if you go to ATVconnection.com and go to the Yamaha forum. Those guys know their stuff.

-Brandon

06 ZX-10R
04 Raptor 660
98 CR250

"A wise man never plays leapfrog with a unicorn."
post #3 of 4 Old 10-12-2006, 09:19 PM
Champion Rider

Posting Frequency

http://www.rochestermotorsports.com/...ion_detail.asp pull up the clutch page on this unit