Gen 1: 2004-2005 Where to put Wiring? - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 03-21-2019, 02:34 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 5
Posting Frequency
 
Where to put Wiring?

Hello friends,

I am fixing up a 2005 ZX10r, it's been in a crash and I've been repairing and replacing a bunch of stuff on it. I'm on the final stretch with the electrical and mechanical stuff and I'm trying to wrap this up quickly so I can get riding it and work on the cosmetic issues. Anyway, the wiring harness might be an issue in a day or two. I've been a bit busy repairing frayed wires and working out where there are shorts and disconnects and I'm 99% of the way done, but I don't know where to throw all the wires. Someone attempted to fix this bike before me and made a mess of things so I'm not sure where everything goes. I'm converting the bike into more of a naked look and I'm not sure where to throw the wiring harness when I reassemble everything.

Does anyone have any pictures of where their wiring harness is on their bike? Bonus points if the wiring harness can't be seen when the bike has no fairings on!
jfizzle232 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 03-25-2019, 06:48 AM
Squid
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Posting Frequency
 
In case you haven't seen it already there is a workshop manual available here: http://volksdragon.net/dusk/04-05%20...e%20Manual.pdf

The pdf isn't bookmarked for chapters, so the wiring diagrams begin on page 565 although they are a bit hard to follow.
If there's a particular spot that's giving you much grief let me know and I'll get some pics as I'm planning on taking some fairings off soon (My ram-air duct keeps falling forward out of the frame for some annoying reason...)

Much of it seems to run down from the steering stem and down along the left side of the frame under the airbox. My '04 has all sorts of wiring issues due to fatigued wires and dodgy mods so I'll be in your shoes eventually replacing basically all the copper...

goodluck
nwtl is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 03-28-2019, 06:56 AM
Squid
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 29
Posting Frequency
 
I got my engine out and i am happy to take pics if you need help :)
giovannidc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 03-28-2019, 10:37 AM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 5
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by giovannidc View Post
I got my engine out and i am happy to take pics if you need help :)
If you still have yours apart, all I really need is a few pictures at different angles of where your wiring harness goes. Currently it's kinda just thrown in there but I'd like to make sure it's in the right place.

Also, by chance, do you have any experience troubleshooting the speed sensor? Mine was throwing out an error and I replaced it, still nothing. There was a broken ground wire inside the harness that I found and fixed, still nothing. Anything special I have to do? Or is it more likely that a wire is broken inside somewhere else?
jfizzle232 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-30-2019, 04:01 AM
Squid
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 29
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfizzle232 View Post
If you still have yours apart, all I really need is a few pictures at different angles of where your wiring harness goes. Currently it's kinda just thrown in there but I'd like to make sure it's in the right place.

Also, by chance, do you have any experience troubleshooting the speed sensor? Mine was throwing out an error and I replaced it, still nothing. There was a broken ground wire inside the harness that I found and fixed, still nothing. Anything special I have to do? Or is it more likely that a wire is broken inside somewhere else?
Hello,
not sure about the speed sensor as i removed it. This is due to me removing the sprocket cover as mine is a track bike only. I am taking a few pics now.
giovannidc is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 04-01-2019, 01:09 AM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 5
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by giovannidc View Post
Hello,
not sure about the speed sensor as i removed it. This is due to me removing the sprocket cover as mine is a track bike only. I am taking a few pics now.
Awesome thanks man
jfizzle232 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: Anyone who has an abs model and has replaced there wiring 4 ABS MODEL WIRING HARNESS edwin79 Parts, Gear and Accessories 0 08-04-2012 01:00 PM
04 wiring diagram help for clocks wiring TrickKwak Performance and Tech 4 11-25-2009 07:47 AM
Getting ready to put full akra on bike, do i need to put on new gaskets too? GosuPaintballer The ZX-10R 3 03-25-2009 05:30 PM
Need Help With Wiring or Wiring Diagram for 2004 ZX-10 cashes41 The ZX-10R 0 05-21-2004 03:24 PM
What extra's are we going to put on our ZX10R burgerkin Archives 23 10-13-2003 09:21 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome