Gen 5: 2016- GP Shift / Factory Rearsets - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By SkyDork
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 04-12-2019, 07:08 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 3
Posting Frequency
 
GP Shift / Factory Rearsets

Hi all,

Turns out that after years of using GP shift exclusively, I really don't want to go back to a normal shift pattern. I'd like to switch my 2016 Zx10R, and read some conflicting information so I figured I'd ask. Is it possible to have GP shift using the factory rearsets? And if so, is it possible to use the factory quickshifter in GP shift? I managed to pick up a Woolich LogBox second hand that I just need to buy a bin file for, and have no problem buying the race tools key if that would suffice, in fact I intended on purchasing it eventually anyway. I also have no problem with switching out the shift arm if need be, I'd just prefer not to switch the rearsets. Thanks!

~Mike
Riptide912 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 04-19-2019, 01:23 PM
Champion Rider
 
meanstreak5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: glasgow ky
Posts: 445
Posting Frequency
Images: 8
  
I have some after mkt rearset on my 17 with gp shift works great with stock qs. Attack brand
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190419_131154.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	112.6 KB
ID:	421935  

2000 WR400 SM, 2004 KTM 300EXC, 2005 1800 Wing, 2006 ZX10R, 2017 ZX10R
meanstreak5 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 04-19-2019, 03:36 PM
Squid
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 48
Posting Frequency
 
To the OP, you will need something like the Attack rearsets above that include a reversing pivot or a different mechanism to change direction of the gear-select shaft. It's easy to tell the ECU that you want to reverse the pattern to select cut or auto-blip respectively, but your are still manually changing the gears. I don't think the stock levers allow for that.
2wheelmike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 04-19-2019, 04:01 PM
REPOST Enforcement Mod
 
SkyDork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 13,490
Posting Frequency
           
Garage
I haven't logged on in awhile as I've been crazy busy as of late. But since I'm here now and this topic is front and center, I'll give you my solution.

My Gen 5 is using the GP shift pattern, with the factory rearsets, factory QS sensor, and no ECU software changes. The only thing you need to do is use a bellcrank configuration. It's not the cheapest way to go, but it's a bolt-on piece and works great without having to worry about clearances with anything else.

https://www.bikesportdevelopments.co...KT114&CartID=1
WILDWHISKEYWOLF likes this.

I may not be perfect, but at least I don't ride a Suzuki.

Ridding the Internet of bad grammar, 1 post at a time.
#WordCrimes




SkyDork is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 04-19-2019, 10:35 PM
GP Rider
 
michael4012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,142
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyDork View Post
I haven't logged on in awhile as I've been crazy busy as of late. But since I'm here now and this topic is front and center, I'll give you my solution.

My Gen 5 is using the GP shift pattern, with the factory rearsets, factory QS sensor, and no ECU software changes. The only thing you need to do is use a bellcrank configuration. It's not the cheapest way to go, but it's a bolt-on piece and works great without having to worry about clearances with anything else.

https://www.bikesportdevelopments.co...KT114&CartID=1
Hes been on the missing list for months And then BOOM hes back with industry changing replies
michael4012 is online now  
post #6 of 9 Old 07-11-2019, 01:40 PM
Squid
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Posting Frequency
 
So I'm taking my bike in for a tune anyway so I was going to have him unlock the autoblip as well. With just the woolich software and def code, can the bike be switched to race shift and still have the autoblip and qs? Or do i need the race tools qs sensor?

Tia!
twistedmistersartz is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 07-12-2019, 05:30 AM
Squid
 
WILDWHISKEYWOLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 26
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyDork View Post
I haven't logged on in awhile as I've been crazy busy as of late. But since I'm here now and this topic is front and center, I'll give you my solution.

My Gen 5 is using the GP shift pattern, with the factory rearsets, factory QS sensor, and no ECU software changes. The only thing you need to do is use a bellcrank configuration. It's not the cheapest way to go, but it's a bolt-on piece and works great without having to worry about clearances with anything else.

https://www.bikesportdevelopments.co...KT114&CartID=1


Can you post some pics with this setup on your bike?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
WILDWHISKEYWOLF is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 07-16-2019, 01:51 PM
Track Day Rider
 
Twistedsocal13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: OC SoCal
Posts: 114
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
 
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by twistedmistersartz View Post
So I'm taking my bike in for a tune anyway so I was going to have him unlock the autoblip as well. With just the woolich software and def code, can the bike be switched to race shift and still have the autoblip and qs? Or do i need the race tools qs sensor?

Tia!
the woolich software let's you do it with the stock sensors. it has options for gp or standard shift and options to enable auto blip if you don't already have it. If you switch rear sets to attack or vortex and use the gp shift deal on the rear sets you won't need to change the selection on the woolich software to gp shift since the rear set does all the stuff going to the bike the same and it only changes where the lever is concerned
Twistedsocal13 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 07-16-2019, 02:09 PM
REPOST Enforcement Mod
 
SkyDork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 13,490
Posting Frequency
           
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by WILDWHISKEYWOLF View Post
Can you post some pics with this setup on your bike?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Sorry for the late reply. Here's the photos of mine.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7350.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	160.6 KB
ID:	423317   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7351.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	148.1 KB
ID:	423319  

I may not be perfect, but at least I don't ride a Suzuki.

Ridding the Internet of bad grammar, 1 post at a time.
#WordCrimes




SkyDork is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
michael4012
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trade: Std shift DJ QS for GP Shift ls1leadfoot Wanted: Buy or Trade 2 02-07-2014 09:56 PM
Gen 1 reverse shift / gp shift rapid van cleef The ZX-10R 5 12-13-2012 11:02 PM
Gen 4: Vortex rearsets(or others) gp shift patern pictures needed. livharder The ZX-10R 8 09-15-2011 09:05 AM
FS: Sato Black GP Shift Rearsets for 03-04 Kawi 636,6rr yehzx10r Parts, Gear and Accessories 0 06-28-2005 09:55 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome