Gear indicator - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 05-27-2004, 11:52 AM Thread Starter
MIA Post Whore
 
miykl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Princeton, Tx --'Nawlins refugee
Posts: 8,727
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
          
Gear indicator

By far the mod I've made so far!! Check it out here: http://www.bohnarmor.com/riderstations/datatool.html Installation took 15 minutes. Removed wind screen, then the it plugs in in-line with the speedo much like a power commander does. some velcro and zipties to clean up the install, 5 minute on a stand to "program" the gears and you're done. Gear changes took less than a second to be "recognized". Only draw back is you do have to have the gear ingaged (clutch out) for it to indicate the correct gear. Multiple downshifts at a light will make it confused until you take off again then three seconds later, all's good. It's great to glance down and know what gear you are in when in traffic or when making those high end runs, it'll keep you from trying to shift into 7th (ya know you've done it!). I'll get myself sorted with a picture host this evening. Looks cool too ('cause bling does matter some too!)
miykl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 05-27-2004, 12:25 PM
GP Rider
 
JLove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Dover, DE USA
Posts: 1,231
Posting Frequency
  
Thanks for posting this. I have been holding out for them to make a plug-in version for the ZX. I am always trying to shift into 7th. All the time. I am going to order it.

2004 ZX-10R black (sold)
2008 CBR1000RR
2011 ZX-10R ABS Black
#51 NESBA, TPM, Absolute

JLove is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 05-27-2004, 01:15 PM Thread Starter
MIA Post Whore
 
miykl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Princeton, Tx --'Nawlins refugee
Posts: 8,727
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
          
Installation is a no brainer. I did use electrical tape to give some degree of weather protection at the connectors, otherwise everthing you need is there. I may fab a bracket to eleminate the velcro that is keeking it in place now (supplied with the kit). I also ordered the anodized blue alum housing. Bling, I know, but dresses it up some and matches my "faster blue" 10 well.
miykl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 Old 05-27-2004, 08:48 PM
WSB Rider
 
mad kaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 852
Posting Frequency
 
WTF? You are describing the Acumen and posted a link to the Digi. This is wildly misleading. Digi is NOT in the same league as Acumen. Sheeeeeeesh.
mad kaw is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 05-27-2004, 10:45 PM
WSB Rider
 
Snake Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 636
Posting Frequency
 
What are the colors to be used on the ZX10R?
I have the indicator but dont know wich wires to wich (colors)on the bike???

Please help

2004 zx10r (sold)
2006 zx10r (sold)
2008 zx10r - trackbike
2009 zx10r - streetbike
www.FastFoodRacing.com



Snake Eye is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 05-27-2004, 11:16 PM
WSB Rider
 
mad kaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 852
Posting Frequency
 
They are listed on the Acumen website.
mad kaw is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 05-28-2004, 01:08 AM
WSB Rider
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 725
Posting Frequency
 
Send a message via AIM to RUNNINHORN Send a message via Yahoo to RUNNINHORN
so which is better, acumen or Digi?

I was looking at the tach/speedo display tonite, its round, do they make an indicator that is rounded off to butt up perfect to it? or not?
RUNNINHORN is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 05-28-2004, 02:34 AM
WSB Rider
 
mad kaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 852
Posting Frequency
 
Acumen. No contest.
mad kaw is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 05-28-2004, 07:06 AM Thread Starter
MIA Post Whore
 
miykl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Princeton, Tx --'Nawlins refugee
Posts: 8,727
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
          
Sorry for the confusion. It is the Acumen. What can I say? ...Brain overload... ..caught up in a moment.. ahhhhhh.. I suck? The gear indicator rocks though!
miykl is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 05-28-2004, 07:15 AM
GP Star
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,058
Posting Frequency
  
I don't get why these guys aren't making a complete, no programming necessary, plug & play gear indicator for the Kwak. It should be easy, as the 10R has a gear position sensor built-in from the factory. Can't see why that signal couldn't be intercepted to feed a display that wouldn't need to be programmed. And it wouldn't be confused by multiple downshifts at a light, and wouldn't need for the clutch to be released to indicate the proper gear. Just wondering. :?
CanyonCarver is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gear shift indicator cashes41 The ZX-10R 12 07-12-2005 07:48 PM
Gear Indicator? JLove The ZX-10R 7 04-27-2004 12:55 PM
Droping out of gear greg570 The ZX-10R 4 04-13-2004 05:02 PM
RedElk's ZX10R Ride and Adventure review swft The ZX-10R 11 03-11-2004 01:24 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome