Gen 5: 2016- 2017 zx10rr performance mods - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 07-25-2019, 11:04 PM Thread Starter
Squid

Posting Frequency

2017 zx10rr performance mods

I’m new to tuning/modding bikes, but I’m looking to get the most out of my 2017 10RR. I’m interested in doing anything short of motor work like race cams or gaskets and stuff. I know full system, flash, air filter are the typical suspects. But what else is out there? I’ve seen airbox heat wraps, and intake flapper deletes. Anything else to remove, any other emissions shit to pull out ? Even if they only give 1-2hp gains or minute weight reductions I’d like to hear them.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 07-26-2019, 03:08 AM
Squid

Posting Frequency

Garage
I've just started tinkering with my 17 - and small things have woken it up (and it was quick in stock form, mine is a euro bike).

I've reflashed the ecu (Woolich), decatted with a good, free flowing exhaust and added a K&N filter just for the sake of it.
The ecu runs stock maps for now, with emissions features turned off (and the autoblipper enabled, it's a hoot :D ), the maps I've looked at that can be downloaded, I wouldn't touch with a ten foot pole...the bike will have the stock fuelling checked on a dyno next week - it runs very, very well.

And the front sprocket is dropped one tooth - and it's very, very lively at the moment.

Best thing to start with is a to get the Woolich Racing stuff, get rid of the emissions crap (carbon canister, KLEEN, exhaust valve).
And get a reputable tuner to work on the fuelling on a dyno, the autotune is a quick way to cut corners, but it still needs an experienced hand after the autotune has worked its magic.

Then take it from there, I wouldn't open the motor, very little gains for a lot of money on an already stressed engine.
michael4012 and Enrique Leib like this.
post #3 of 16 Old 07-31-2019, 09:11 PM Thread Starter
Squid

Posting Frequency