Suspension Setup Advise Gen 4 - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 05-19-2014, 02:21 PM Thread Starter
WSB Rider

Posting Frequency

Suspension Setup Advise Gen 4

Ok guys, so I have a few questions. Im new to riding anything much more then the street or drag strip so honestly I have never had to mess with the suspension on any of my bikes. That and I used to weigh around 175 so most bikes are factory set around there. Now im closing in on the 200 mark.

Anyways. I need like a suspension setup for dummies, because I have never had to do any of this. I wanna get my bike more dialed in for my weight. Maybe get some more turn in out of it. And try to keep the rear from spinning as easily. People have said set your sag, then adjust this, then that.

So whats the best way for a rookie to start adjusting his bike to fit him better? Start where and finish where? I know how each fork has 3 adjusters. 2 top one bottom. And see a couple on the shock, but not sure which one does exactly what.

Im sure I need to get my flame suit on for asking such basic stuff, but I figure there has to be at least one nice guy on here willing to walk me threw it and teach me a little but. Any help is appreciated, keep any negative comments to yourself.

Or if you know someone in the Indy area that can do it, I would be willing to pay someone to do it right.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 07-23-2014, 07:34 AM
Champion Rider

Posting Frequency

Hello,
First thing is to bring all the susupension settings to the factory baseline.
Then you will need a couple of your friends to help you out and set-up you "statis sag" for your wieght (better with gear on). This will allow you to add/remove the necessary amount of pre-load for your rider wieght.