Gen 1: 2004-2005 cluster swap - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 Old 06-05-2018, 11:43 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
king8703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: temecula ca
Posts: 11
Posting Frequency
 
Garage
Send a message via AIM to king8703 Send a message via Yahoo to king8703
cluster swap

hey will the cluster from the gen 2 fit a gen 1
king8703 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 06-06-2018, 05:54 AM
Squid
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 8
Posting Frequency
 
I'd like to know as well
Fallguy666 is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 06-06-2018, 06:04 AM
Squid
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 12
Posting Frequency
 
I looked into this before as well, and it seems the short answer is no.

However, there are other options (but it will still cost you over $500 to do.

Use the search though boys, http%3A%2F%2Fwww%2Ezx-10r%2Enet%2Fforum%2Fshowthread%2Ephp%3Ft%3D97087&s hare_tid=97087&share_fid=91412&share_type=t

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3000 using Tapatalk
stokedcrf is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 Old 06-06-2018, 07:25 AM
REPOST Enforcement Mod
 
SkyDork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 13,338
Posting Frequency
           
Garage
Wow. This topic was covered about 12 years ago. You know, when the Gen 2 first hit the streets in '06 and and everyone still had a Gen 1. Searching is usually the best way to find old information like that.

The answer is yes, it can be swapped, but no it won't plug-in and work. There's rewiring/repinning of the connector to make it all line up properly and you need a custom speedohealer box to convert the speed sensor signal to the newer cluster. If those are even still available. It's not terribly difficult to do if you're motivated and knowledgeable. In most cases it's easier to swap the entire Gen 1 to a Gen 2 model if you like the cluster so much. At least that was the advice given over a decade ago.

fitting gen 2 dash instruments to gen 1 ZX10R

Gen 2 cluster swap on to a Gen 1. Possible? Anyone tried it?

Question 06 cluster on a 04/05?

HOW TO: Retrofit 06-07 Gauge Cluster on 04-05
SpazOnaZX likes this.

I may not be perfect, but at least I don't ride a Suzuki.

Ridding the Internet of bad grammar, 1 post at a time.
#WordCrimes




SkyDork is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 06-06-2018, 09:06 AM
GP Star
 
SpazOnaZX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: S.V. Arizona
Posts: 2,691
Posting Frequency
        
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyDork View Post
In most cases it's easier to swap the entire Gen 1 to a Gen 2 model if you like the cluster so much.
I love it.

Attack life... it's going to kill you anyway.
SpazOnaZX is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 06-06-2018, 10:56 AM Thread Starter
Squid
 
king8703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: temecula ca
Posts: 11
Posting Frequency
 
Garage
Send a message via AIM to king8703 Send a message via Yahoo to king8703
thnx guys
king8703 is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 06-06-2018, 01:01 PM
GP Star
 
thundercoupe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ST. LOUIS
Posts: 2,130
Posting Frequency
  
thundercoupe9 is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 06-06-2018, 04:00 PM
GP Rider
 
NinjaLife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: N. Florida
Posts: 1,321
Posting Frequency
  
Quote:
Originally Posted by thundercoupe9 View Post
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H4a-u48UtgU

gen2 gauge

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MIuEPg4Ndhk

gen 3 gauge with a working oem gear indicator.

You sell that adapter harness? Or would the OP have to create his own adapter harness?
NinjaLife is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 06-07-2018, 12:12 AM
GP Star
 
thundercoupe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ST. LOUIS
Posts: 2,130
Posting Frequency
  
Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaLife View Post
You sell that adapter harness? Or would the OP have to create his own adapter harness?
I don't sell these, it's just an example what can be done if you put your time in it.
NinjaLife likes this.
thundercoupe9 is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 06-07-2018, 07:22 AM
REPOST Enforcement Mod
 
SkyDork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 13,338
Posting Frequency
           
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by thundercoupe9 View Post
gen2 gauge

gen 3 gauge with a working oem gear indicator.

Good post! Very informative for an age-old question!

I may not be perfect, but at least I don't ride a Suzuki.

Ridding the Internet of bad grammar, 1 post at a time.
#WordCrimes




SkyDork is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome