Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

Valve Adjustment - Gen 4

17K views 35 replies 12 participants last post by  shanesteak 
#1 ·
I did some searching and looked at all I could find. I'm planning on doing some maintenance this winter to include checking the valve clearances. This is my first time doing this, so just seeing if anybody that's previously done it on their Gen 4 had any tips or tricks. I have the service manual in hand and don't foresee any issues. But figured I'd take any advice from those who know more than I do. Thanks.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

#3 ·
I did my first valve adjustment (on my Gen 4) a couple months ago. It was so satisfying doing it by myself!

It was straightforward for the most part. Here are a few points to consider:

- make your life easier by putting masking tape tags on all the various plug ends to match them back up after.
- you'll have to cut the rubber mat in a couple places which the manual doesn't mention as far as I recall.
- zap strap the timing chain onto the cam gears and crankshaft sprocket to preserve the timing and tilt the cams out of the way without removing them entirely. It'll be a little tight getting to the buckets for cylinder 4 but there will be enough room. I pulled my cams out the first time but still had to adjust a valve after re-installing and used the zip tie method the 2nd time around which was faster.
- make sure you have a pivoting magnet tool to extract those buckets.
- I used more 1.80 shims than any other size but I also have higher mileage (though relatively low rpm) than most bikes. I believe that most of my required shims were in the 1.75-1.85 range.
- this miniature ratchet combined with a 4mm allen bit will also make the job much faster when re/re'ing the cam cover bolts. They have a zillion threads and take FOREVER with an allen key, especially for the bolts tucked way back under the frame spar.

Naro Ratchet Driver & Bit Set | eBay

#5 ·