Boosted 2nd gen build - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 Old 12-23-2017, 07:29 AM Thread Starter
Squid

Posting Frequency

Boosted 2nd gen build

I've been running a dry nitrous set up for a couple years now & just abusing this bike generally speaking for 30k miles. I put it together to do Everything from track days (had to unhook nitrous ☹) to roll racing on the intersate with the goal of still being reliable. Motor is toast so Now I finally have an excuse to build a low compression motor for boost.

With that being said I'm shooting for a "reliable" 300-350 whp street monster to run with high end cars from 60-100 up rolls. I've had much better luck in the past surprising people what can be done without a stretched swing arm so I believe I'll be better off ramping up my boost in a linear manner to keep thing "under control".

So my question is, is this even really possible to build and have the motor last any length of time? I realize na applications are best but no chance of the power i want. I'm curious about longevity for my application. It seems like 20 lbs of boost is going to be the magic number according to spazonazx thread. My budget for the build is no more than 15k (motor work and fab work will be done by a shop that I have yet to decide on). I would like to roll around on 6lbs and be able to switch maps on the fly for the hit. I'd hate to give up the Ability to cruise around occasionally but my primary concern building something fast enough to win but reliable enough to ride to and from the hit. (As well as run wot for a reasonable distance when necessary. )

Sorry for being long winded, spazonazx I'd appreciate input about longevity of internals. You're making some really impressive numbers!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 12-23-2017, 01:45 PM
GP Star

Posting Frequency

It's possible, spaz already told you what it takes, $15k is more than enough to get it done.