ZX10r Wheelie - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 10Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 143 Old 02-22-2012, 11:32 AM Thread Starter
WSB Rider

Posting Frequency

ZX10r Wheelie

Hey guys. I know I might get flamed for this but just looking for some advice. I have been riding for 6 years or so, mostly 600s but have been riding my zx10r for a year now. Anyways, I never gave wheelies much thought except for the occasional accidental power wheelie with hard acceleration, which I immediately bring down, safely. Anyways, here comes the part I may get flamed for, I would like to be able to do a longer wheelie, in a safe environment of course. So heres my question, I was highly considering getting a used older dirt bike, to learn balance point, clutch/brake/acceleration control on before I even really attempt on my big bike. I know the weight and stuff will be different between the zx10r and the dirt bike, the thing I hope to gain on the dirt bike is mostly brake control to save my ass if the front goes over the top, instead of freaking out and flipping. My thoughts are I can learn all this, on grass/dirt, instead of pavement, at slow speeds. I plan on falling, as I know I most likely will. I know, even with this I can still wreck on my zx10r but the thought is, this will be the safest/cheapest way to learn wheelie balance/technique and most importantly brake control if wheel goes to high. What do you all think? Am I wasting my time with a dirt bike?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 143 Old 02-22-2012, 11:47 AM
GP Star

Posting Frequency

Garage

The Truth
post #3 of 143 Old 02-22-2012, 11:50 AM
WSB Rider

Posting Frequency

post #4 of 143 Old 02-22-2012, 11:52 AM
Champion Rider

Posting Frequency

My advice.. a leather suit, a good helmet, and some life insurance..

but for real, they have wheelie classes...