Gen 5: 2016 -> Woolich Racing ECU flashing products are a go! - Page 57 - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 137Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #561 of 580 Old 03-09-2018, 09:17 AM
WSB Rider
 
g-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 628
Posting Frequency
 
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyDork View Post
The quickshifter is used for both upshift and downshift (if reflashed). If you turn it off through the cluster settings, it doesn't matter which direction since the signal doesn't get to the ECU if the quickshifter is turned off.

"Woolich" doesn't auto blip anything. Their interface gives you access to the software in the ECU, but it's not a "system" that controls that function. That function has always been there in the stock ECU! You just need the Woolich interface to go in and enable that feature that is there and disabled by default.
Well I'll be darned!

I'll turn back on and test.

I may have a problem anyway. When I just do normal street riding with it on, I have a habit of leaving my toe resting on the shifter when I go to first. I did this before, and it starts blipping the throttle almost throwing me off the bike. There must be a mechanical adjustment so it's not engaging, from that little pressure.

My buddies ZX10R does not do this. If not for that, I'd just leave it on.
g-man is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #562 of 580 Old 03-09-2018, 09:23 AM
REPOST Enforcement Mod
 
SkyDork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 13,337
Posting Frequency
           
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by g-man View Post
I have a habit of leaving my toe resting on the shifter when I go to first.
Well there's your problem! Quit doing that!

Quote:
Originally Posted by g-man View Post
There must be a mechanical adjustment so it's not engaging, from that little pressure
No, there's no mechanic adjustment on the switch. It's a switch. It's an electronic push-pull switch. The only mechanical adjustment you have for it is the pedal placement up or down. That doesn't affect the function of the switch, it just repositions the shift pedal.

I may not be perfect, but at least I don't ride a Suzuki.

Ridding the Internet of bad grammar, 1 post at a time.
#WordCrimes




SkyDork is offline  
post #563 of 580 Old 03-09-2018, 09:46 PM
Gen 5 Now!!
 
08zx10rny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island N.Y.
Posts: 1,125
Posting Frequency
Images: 4
   
I meant to quote G-Man and not you Skydork.

actually there is a way to adjust in the Woolich software where you enable Auto Blipper function it has a Activation Pressure function. Yours is probably on like a 2 or a 3. I would change it to like a 5 or a 6.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyDork View Post
Well there's your problem! Quit doing that!



No, there's no mechanic adjustment on the switch. It's a switch. It's an electronic push-pull switch. The only mechanical adjustment you have for it is the pedal placement up or down. That doesn't affect the function of the switch, it just repositions the shift pedal.

GEN 5!!!


Last edited by 08zx10rny; 03-09-2018 at 09:49 PM.
08zx10rny is offline  
 
post #564 of 580 Old 03-12-2018, 12:36 PM
Я - Ребенок Люциферов
 
Vonstallin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 3,464
Posting Frequency
Images: 16
      
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZX10RArcher View Post
1st batch of updates have gone out - much more to come and soon!

So in the first batch of updates is basically the full on race tools kit. This will include:
- Custom written auto blip coding for gear and RPM, as well throttle blip amount and throttle blip duration and sensor adjustments
***This setup Justin has created works LEAPS better than the OEM setup/adjustments - Silky smooth would be a gross understatement
- Custom written QS coding with actual kill times for gear, RPM and TPS and sensor adjustments
- Adjustable Launch Control with several different settings
- Adjustable pit speed limiter (requires Kawi pit limiter harness)
- Engine warm up protocols, think about all the throttle blips you hear at the races (requires Kawi pit limiter harness)

There are various options now with race tools. So you can either get the full on race tools kit which will come with the upgraded sensor.
-OR-
If you want to use the stock OEM sensor (boo) you can buy just the licensing to access the race tools function but use the OEM sensor.

Additionally launch control is now available by itself if you want to have an adjustable launch control instead of preset KLCM1 or KLCM2

Pit speed limiter harness is required for warm up and pit limiter function and is available by itself. This is a new style similar to what we are using on the new CBR1000RR and the new GSXR1000/R. I do not have these yet, but will order some next week once they're released. Additionally all the pit limiter switches now come with a steel mount that you can insert the switch into and then mount it to the pinch bolts on the clutch perch - simply back out one of the bolts and remove it, put the bracket and switch on, put the bolt back through and tighten to proper torque spec. Comes with two different style brackets, one that is at an angle and another that is flat.

Justin is hard at work at all the other upgrades you guys have been asking for so please be patient, we're almost there!

So we can download the updates and have more settings for the launch control, even if we do not have race tools?

Also did you guys make it easier to set the launch control vs. OEM ? I am a little lost on the changes to launch control..

**2 - and pitt warm up is only thru race tools?

**3 - Is there a launch control function for the gen 4?

My current Race bike is the Gen 4 (in Gen 5 clothes) and I have a bazzaz TC/QS/FI with Ghul flash....but I want to flash using Woolich...will I need to go back to OEM spects to flash with woolich?

WERA Novice 325 | CCS Novice 326 | The Nightmare of Summit Point

2016 ZX10R ABS (Street) | 2011 ZX10RR(Race) | 2011 R6 (Street & Track) | 2009 WR250F
GunnRunnaz.com|GR on FaceBook | www.2666ad.com|
Vonstallin is offline  
post #565 of 580 Old 03-12-2018, 04:08 PM Thread Starter
GP Star
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Limbo
Posts: 2,788
Posting Frequency
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vonstallin View Post
So we can download the updates and have more settings for the launch control, even if we do not have race tools?
Yes, if you just want more control over launch control, one can just purchase the "2016-2018 Kawasaki ZX10R Launch Control Key" and you'll be able to adjust the launch control through the software. But, for $60 more you can unlock the entire race tools software package and continue use the OEM sensor by purchasing the "2016-2018 Kawasaki ZX10R Race Tools Key Only" so that would be the way to go. You'll get a more refined QS control, better/more smooth auto blip as well as the option to use the engine warm up/pit limiter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vonstallin View Post
Also did you guys make it easier to set the launch control vs. OEM ? I am a little lost on the changes to launch control..
Yes, it's activated via clutch pull in and hold; you basically sit still, with the bike in first, hold the clutch in for a delay set in the software and it activates. At that point you can either use the launch control or simply back off the throttle to accelerate from the stop normally.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vonstallin View Post
**2 - and pitt warm up is only thru race tools?
Yes, you would need either:
1) "2016-2018 Kawasaki ZX10R Race Tools Key Only"
or
2) "2016-2018 Kawasaki ZX10R Race Tools"

in addition to the "Kawasaki Pit Speed Limiter Harness Type 1" in order to activate pit limiter and/or engine warm up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vonstallin View Post
**3 - Is there a launch control function for the gen 4?
Yes, there has been for sometime, 4 or 5 years... maybe more. It is shown on the website as "2011-2015 ZX10R Launch Control Key". This will allow you to use launch control in your 4th gen ECU, but still retain the QS functionality from your Bazzaz setup as you mentioned.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vonstallin View Post
My current Race bike is the Gen 4 (in Gen 5 clothes) and I have a bazzaz TC/QS/FI with Ghul flash....but I want to flash using Woolich...will I need to go back to OEM spects to flash with woolich?
You would likely want to send back to Guhl to be unlocked first. The guy who hacks all of Guhl's ECUs and writes his software for Guhl, Marlin, has made it that if an ECU is attempted to be reflashed with any other software, it then locks the ECU and it has to be sent to Guhl to be reset for which charges may apply. I have seen it personally on an H2 which he was then charged an additional $150-$170 to have it reset on top of what he paid for the original flash. So maybe if it were an older flash from like 2011-2012 you'd be okay to use the ECU unlock utility within the software, but anything more recent than that, I'd play it safe and send it to him to be unlocked first back to the 100% unlocked OEM state, then reflash with the WRT software.
ZX10RArcher is offline  
post #566 of 580 Old 03-12-2018, 04:41 PM
Я - Ребенок Люциферов
 
Vonstallin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 3,464
Posting Frequency
Images: 16
      
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZX10RArcher View Post
Yes, if you just want more control over launch control, one can just purchase the "2016-2018 Kawasaki ZX10R Launch Control Key" and you'll be able to adjust the launch control through the software. But, for $60 more you can unlock the entire race tools software package and continue use the OEM sensor by purchasing the "2016-2018 Kawasaki ZX10R Race Tools Key Only" so that would be the way to go. You'll get a more refined QS control, better/more smooth auto blip as well as the option to use the engine warm up/pit limiter.


Yes, it's activated via clutch pull in and hold; you basically sit still, with the bike in first, hold the clutch in for a delay set in the software and it activates. At that point you can either use the launch control or simply back off the throttle to accelerate from the stop normally.


Yes, you would need either:
1) "2016-2018 Kawasaki ZX10R Race Tools Key Only"
or
2) "2016-2018 Kawasaki ZX10R Race Tools"

in addition to the "Kawasaki Pit Speed Limiter Harness Type 1" in order to activate pit limiter and/or engine warm up.


Yes, there has been for sometime, 4 or 5 years... maybe more. It is shown on the website as "2011-2015 ZX10R Launch Control Key". This will allow you to use launch control in your 4th gen ECU, but still retain the QS functionality from your Bazzaz setup as you mentioned.


You would likely want to send back to Guhl to be unlocked first. The guy who hacks all of Guhl's ECUs and writes his software for Guhl, Marlin, has made it that if an ECU is attempted to be reflashed with any other software, it then locks the ECU and it has to be sent to Guhl to be reset for which charges may apply. I have seen it personally on an H2 which he was then charged an additional $150-$170 to have it reset on top of what he paid for the original flash. So maybe if it were an older flash from like 2011-2012 you'd be okay to use the ECU unlock utility within the software, but anything more recent than that, I'd play it safe and send it to him to be unlocked first back to the 100% unlocked OEM state, then reflash with the WRT software.


Ok thanks much. I had it sent to GHUL in March 2012. One of the older flashes that do not have other features unlocked.
Will my Gen 5 flash kit work on the Gen 4 ecu? so that way I buy the bin file , lauch control stuff and the short wire to connect the ecu to flash box?

WERA Novice 325 | CCS Novice 326 | The Nightmare of Summit Point

2016 ZX10R ABS (Street) | 2011 ZX10RR(Race) | 2011 R6 (Street & Track) | 2009 WR250F
GunnRunnaz.com|GR on FaceBook | www.2666ad.com|
Vonstallin is offline  
post #567 of 580 Old 03-12-2018, 09:50 PM Thread Starter
GP Star
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Limbo
Posts: 2,788
Posting Frequency
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vonstallin View Post
Ok thanks much. I had it sent to GHUL in March 2012. One of the older flashes that do not have other features unlocked.
Will my Gen 5 flash kit work on the Gen 4 ecu? so that way I buy the bin file , lauch control stuff and the short wire to connect the ecu to flash box?
Yep, all the boxes are backwards compatible. You can actually see in the software now what harnesses/boxes are needed per bike:
Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	386.8 KB
ID:	413570
So while the box itself is backwards compatible, the bike wiring is different, so you would need a complete 3a harness, not just the extension. If you were to buy the Type 3a extension it won't mate up to the main portion of the harness since it would a two pin connector on the 3a versus one pin on the 13a.

Anthony
ZX10RArcher is offline  
post #568 of 580 Old 03-13-2018, 01:24 PM
Я - Ребенок Люциферов
 
Vonstallin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 3,464
Posting Frequency
Images: 16
      
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZX10RArcher View Post
Yep, all the boxes are backwards compatible. You can actually see in the software now what harnesses/boxes are needed per bike:
Attachment 413570
So while the box itself is backwards compatible, the bike wiring is different, so you would need a complete 3a harness, not just the extension. If you were to buy the Type 3a extension it won't mate up to the main portion of the harness since it would a two pin connector on the 3a versus one pin on the 13a.

Anthony
ok that sounds perfect.
I think I will just buy another ECU to keep it simple.

WERA Novice 325 | CCS Novice 326 | The Nightmare of Summit Point

2016 ZX10R ABS (Street) | 2011 ZX10RR(Race) | 2011 R6 (Street & Track) | 2009 WR250F
GunnRunnaz.com|GR on FaceBook | www.2666ad.com|
Vonstallin is offline  
post #569 of 580 Old 03-13-2018, 05:18 PM
GP Rider
 
mpp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,496
Posting Frequency
 
buy the extension cable, and a new ECU and be done with it
mpp12 is offline  
post #570 of 580 Old 03-14-2018, 10:26 AM Thread Starter
GP Star
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Limbo
Posts: 2,788
Posting Frequency
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpp12 View Post
buy the extension cable, and a new ECU and be done with it
He would need the full harness.

The 2011-2015 uses a Type 3 main and a Type 3a extension which gives you a Type 3a cable set.

The 2016+ uses a Type 13 main and a Type 13a extension which gives you a Type 13a cable set.

The Type 3a extension (for the 2011-2015) is not compatible with the Type 13 main harness (for the 2016) - if they were it'd be sold as such under a different name like Type 3c cable set.


If people are confused about what harnesses are used on what bikes or what bikes require what harnesses there are three ways to check:
1) In the software as shown a few posts back
2) https://www.woolichracing.com/modelharnesses.aspx - Lets you select a model and will show you the appropriate harness
3) https://www.woolichracing.com/harnessmodel.aspx - Lets you select a harness and then shows you the compatible models
ZX10RArcher is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome