Gen 5: 2016 -> Wheelies and traction control - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 13Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 41 Old 10-23-2016, 05:18 AM Thread Starter
Squid

Posting Frequency

Wheelies and traction control

Hi Guys

Really wanted to ask this question and I did loads of reading and research before bringing it up on the forum. While there is a lot of opinions and experiences regarding this on the web, it seems generally this is more a bike specific question which is why I decided to raise it here.

I've got the gen 5 with approx 2,600km on the clock now and loving very bit about my bike. My previous bike was a Aprilia RS250 2-stroke which I could never wheelie because it just didn't have the power. Now obviously I am not advocating that wheelie's are something that everyone should do and I have no experience with them (i try to be as safe as possible). Anyone here have any experience with wheelies on their gen 5 or previous gens?

Does traction control need to be off? What is your method? What are your thoughts and opinions?

Would love to see what you guys have to say!

Thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 41 Old 10-23-2016, 06:50 AM
Squid

Posting Frequency

if you couldn't weelie your rs250 then don't try it on your zx10r your likely to hurt yourself, i grew up on rd250lc's and spent hours on the back wheel, and on my arse when it all went wrong,
post #3 of 41 Old 10-23-2016, 07:17 AM
Champion Rider

Posting Frequency

the 2016 ZX10r has lift control built into traction control. So the lower intervention settings the traction is on, the higher the bike will allow the front tire to rise off the road. If you want to full 12 o clock wheelie, you will need to turn traction control off. And yes this bike can power wheelie 1-4 gears at correct speeds. The 2015+ R1 by comparison, has an independent lift control system. Thus, you can completely turn off lift control without touching traction control.

2016 Kawasaki ZX10R KRT ABS