Gen 4: 2011-2015 Seems like I'm already flashed...Can ECU still be tuned? - Page 2 - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 17 Old 02-22-2017, 10:27 PM
WSB Rider
 
Helitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 525
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10Arghh View Post
Great, yes it said Off on the dash after I held the TC button down long enough.



Guess my other question is, don't ECU software vendors lock an ECU to the specific computer and software it was flashed from?



I'm worried how my tuner will map the fuel table with his Woolich software.



Also is quick shifter functionality enabled through the ECU?


You won't have a quickshifter unless you go standalone. The gen 4's are not fly-by-wire. So there's nothing a simple ECU reflash will do that can help you in that department.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Helitech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 Old 02-23-2017, 06:13 AM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 192
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helitech View Post
You won't have a quickshifter unless you go standalone. The gen 4's are not fly-by-wire. So there's nothing a simple ECU reflash will do that can help you in that department.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks for response, but I'm a bit unclear.

Are you saying that because the gen 4 doesn't have ride by wire, I will have to get an ignition module that piggybacks to the ECU to allow me to use a quickshifter?

I already have the strain gauge.

Thanks.
10Arghh is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 02-23-2017, 01:37 PM
Track Day Rider
 
Carlos76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Europe
Posts: 245
Posting Frequency
 
Are you from UK and have euro bike?
In this case if lambda sensor is not there anymore means it is disabled in flash.

Woolich gen4 flash with race tools has possibility for quickshift, but quess strain gauge type sensor still needs small module (like cordona has) where sensitivity is adjusted.

Gen4 race: high spec.
Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa 2013: stock.
Kawasaki KX450F 2016: love it.
Carlos76 is offline  
 
post #14 of 17 Old 02-23-2017, 05:38 PM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 192
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos76 View Post
Are you from UK and have euro bike?
In this case if lambda sensor is not there anymore means it is disabled in flash.

Woolich gen4 flash with race tools has possibility for quickshift, but quess strain gauge type sensor still needs small module (like cordona has) where sensitivity is adjusted.
Hi yes, from UK. Bike has no Lambda.

Has Scorpion exhaust and decat link pipe, but strangely has a servo buddy installed.

I think I need to tear down the bike and see what's what.
10Arghh is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 02-27-2017, 04:54 AM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 192
Posting Frequency
 
Finally got a chance to tear down the bike.

No sticker on the ECU, and now I can't seem to turn off the TC whilst riding anymore

Gonna just reflash it.

One question though, do you guys get the ECU flashed at a tuning shop or do you buy the Woolich kit and do it yourselves.

The shop I have in mind use Woolich, but I'm debating whether to just buy the kit.

What's putting me off is that I'll still need the fuelling adjusted if I flash it myself.
10Arghh is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 02-27-2017, 06:43 AM
Track Day Rider
 
Carlos76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Europe
Posts: 245
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10Arghh View Post
One question though, do you guys get the ECU flashed at a tuning shop or do you buy the Woolich kit and do it yourselves?
Since race bike, you may consider Kawa race kit ecu (needs special harness). Sometimes one comes for sale at very good price here, member "Gunner" should have a complete set. Loads of ZX10R racing tuning knowledge in your country.

Gen4 race: high spec.
Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa 2013: stock.
Kawasaki KX450F 2016: love it.
Carlos76 is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 03-20-2017, 08:06 AM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 192
Posting Frequency
 
I removed the PAIR valve yesterday and no code was thrown up.

Strange unless the ECU is flashed.

The intake (flapper) solenoid has also been removed from the bike.

And there is still the issue that there is a Servo Buddy on the bike, and this does throw up an error code if removed.

Was there a time when ECU flashing on these bikes couldn't disable the exhaust servo.

I'm just trying to find out if a flash of the ECU will be a waste of money...I'm trying to find out if I'm already flashed.
10Arghh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
ecu, flash

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome