Gen 5: 2016 -> GP Shift 2016 ZX10R: A Dirty Mod... - Page 2 - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 38Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 232 Old 01-03-2016, 12:11 AM Thread Starter
Я - Ребенок Люциферов
 
Vonstallin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 3,435
Posting Frequency
Images: 16
      
had all the bikes lined up
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160102_215941.jpg
Views:	748
Size:	843.3 KB
ID:	351354   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160102_215814.jpg
Views:	793
Size:	773.4 KB
ID:	351362   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160102_220005.jpg
Views:	707
Size:	766.2 KB
ID:	351370   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160102_222452.jpg
Views:	746
Size:	795.2 KB
ID:	351378   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160102_224907.jpg
Views:	701
Size:	696.9 KB
ID:	351386  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20160102_224923.jpg
Views:	722
Size:	699.3 KB
ID:	351394   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160102_224956.jpg
Views:	696
Size:	803.3 KB
ID:	351402   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160102_225005.jpg
Views:	708
Size:	763.5 KB
ID:	351410   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160102_231356.jpg
Views:	715
Size:	771.4 KB
ID:	351418   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160102_215855.jpg
Views:	692
Size:	700.6 KB
ID:	351426  

mr_honez and stage5 like this.

WERA Novice 325 | CCS Novice 326 | The Nightmare of Summit Point

2016 ZX10R ABS (Street) | 2011 ZX10RR(Race) | 2011 R6 (Street & Track) | 2009 WR250F
GunnRunnaz.com|GR on FaceBook | www.2666ad.com|
Vonstallin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 232 Old 01-03-2016, 09:51 AM
Track Day Rider
 
jr0065's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 135
Posting Frequency
Images: 18
 
Garage
Send a message via Yahoo to jr0065
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boxtradamus View Post
So does the quick shifter still work now that the switch is pulling instead of pushing, or vice versa from how it originally was?
What he said... Does the quick shifter work now in GP?

Gen 5 ZX-10R
jr0065 is offline  
post #13 of 232 Old 01-03-2016, 10:15 AM
Supercharged Mod
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,383
Posting Frequency
         
I have a funny feeling that KQS won't work with the shift rod sensor reversed and (unless Kawasaki has fixed this, which they might have ...) there's no way to change it without reflashing the ECU. The sensor is not a simple switch (like the various Dynojet etc aftermarket switches are), it is a strain gauge that actually measures how much force is being applied and in which direction.

The H2 has the logic for reverse shift pattern in the ECU but you have to reflash to enable it ... I am hoping Don Guhl will come to the rescue.
SkyDork likes this.


Helibars, MRA screen, Ohlins damper, reversed shift pattern, sorted suspension, braided lines, Michelin Pilot Power, all else stock 'coz it's fast enough!
GoFaster is offline  
 
post #14 of 232 Old 01-03-2016, 10:49 AM
GP Star
 
dricked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,144
Posting Frequency
 
Wow! So far I can see where I wouldn't have to spend around $3000 to build a bike provided the linkage isn't a must need item.

I'm really interested in what the front fork cartridge kits are going to be like with the new forks.
dricked is offline  
post #15 of 232 Old 01-03-2016, 11:40 AM
REPOST Enforcement Mod
 
SkyDork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL (The Dub-C)
Posts: 13,044
Posting Frequency
           
Garage
It's not going to just work. The ECU has to know which direction is being activated in. While the switch may be bidirectional, the ECU will think you're trying to down shift and nothing will happen. I'm sure it will be corrected by reflash soon enough, but until then the quick shifter won't work like that.

I may not be perfect, but at least I don't ride a Suzuki.

Ridding the Internet of bad grammar, 1 post at a time.
#WordCrimes




SkyDork is offline  
post #16 of 232 Old 01-03-2016, 12:20 PM
tdh
GP Rider
 
tdh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,525
Posting Frequency
 
Kawasaki could have programmed it work in either direction in the stock ECU. Since they don't do auto blip downshifts on the stock ECU out of the box they could have programmed the push and pull to perform the same function (similar to the Bazzaz QS). I personally don't care since I run standard shift but that would make life easier for those who want to run GP shift.

.
tdh is offline  
post #17 of 232 Old 01-03-2016, 12:21 PM
REPOST Enforcement Mod
 
SkyDork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL (The Dub-C)
Posts: 13,044
Posting Frequency
           
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdh View Post
Kawasaki could have programmed it work in either direction in the stock ECU. Since they don't do auto blip downshifts on the stock ECU out of the box they could have programmed the push and pull to perform the same function (similar to the Bazzaz QS). I personally don't care since I run standard shift but that would make life easier for those who want to run GP shift.

We'll know for sure soon enough.
tdh likes this.

I may not be perfect, but at least I don't ride a Suzuki.

Ridding the Internet of bad grammar, 1 post at a time.
#WordCrimes




SkyDork is offline  
post #18 of 232 Old 01-03-2016, 01:23 PM
Always On Mod
 
Animal11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 1,829
Posting Frequency
      
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoFaster View Post
I have a funny feeling that KQS won't work with the shift rod sensor reversed and (unless Kawasaki has fixed this, which they might have ...) there's no way to change it without reflashing the ECU. The sensor is not a simple switch (like the various Dynojet etc aftermarket switches are), it is a strain gauge that actually measures how much force is being applied and in which direction.

The H2 has the logic for reverse shift pattern in the ECU but you have to reflash to enable it ... I am hoping Don Guhl will come to the rescue.






Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyDork View Post
It's not going to just work. The ECU has to know which direction is being activated in. While the switch may be bidirectional, the ECU will think you're trying to down shift and nothing will happen. I'm sure it will be corrected by reflash soon enough, but until then the quick shifter won't work like that.
The menu options I saw were kqs level 1 or off. There may be a way to get into a deeper menu to change the direction? Or depending what the race dongle gives you access to it may open up more options. I'm sure Woolich is digging into all that as we speak.

Fast parts, Great Service: PM Mike at Rider's Discount
Animal11 is offline  
post #19 of 232 Old 01-04-2016, 01:45 AM
WSB Rider
 
theatiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 502
Posting Frequency
Images: 4
 
Porn bike collection... Nice youtube channel ...Subscribeddddddd

Gen3 : Arata full exhaust , KN air filter , 520 DID Renthal , oem Ecu converted to Race Kawasaki Ecu , milled ported head , Kent camshafts , lowered , Pk shifter , 14k rev limiter . Ecu tuned by TRE ( mr Balogiannis)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eLsF4A1k_ew
theatiss is offline  
post #20 of 232 Old 01-04-2016, 02:11 AM Thread Starter
Я - Ребенок Люциферов
 
Vonstallin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 3,435
Posting Frequency
Images: 16
      
Ill probably end up selling my 2011/Gen 4 some time this season...
I have the same list of equipment as my race bike...

I am going to see if one of my friends want it, because Id be giving away soooo much stuff.
Ill wait until I can get use to the 2016 first tho.


Also...
I measured the Gen 4 exhaust opening (deleting the cats/boom box) and the Gen 5....it looks as though they are the same size.
It was too much shit to take apart this weekend..but I plan on finding out.

If so, I am putting on a Gen 4 slip on and save some money....
The only issue I can see is the mounting bracket. The Gen 4 has 2 position holes and most shorty exhaust brackets use one or the other to hold the can up.

So with the Gen 5 only having one hole and not in the same spot as the Gen 4...you might have to drill an additional hole or make a bracket.


I read somewhere that Kaw put additional catalytic converters in the header pipe on the Gen 5....is that true?

I remember the Gen 3 had that done....I had mines cut out.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160102_195636.jpg
Views:	638
Size:	834.9 KB
ID:	351698  

WERA Novice 325 | CCS Novice 326 | The Nightmare of Summit Point

2016 ZX10R ABS (Street) | 2011 ZX10RR(Race) | 2011 R6 (Street & Track) | 2009 WR250F
GunnRunnaz.com|GR on FaceBook | www.2666ad.com|
Vonstallin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome